//
you're reading...
Training

Saturday Spin Week #3

This morning was week #3 of 10 winter spin sessions being held for Tri Club folks at Conte’s of Arlington. The classes are about 2 hours long and start at 7:30am. Yeah.

But as anyone who has ever tried indoor training knows, doing a high-intensity workout by yourself is HARD. So if I’m going to have to whip myself back into shape through these winter months, it might as well be with a bunch of other people, right? Right.

The class has about 25 people in it — everyone brings their own bikes/trainers — and we set up in the middle of the store. Ron provides the workout, which uses HR zones and cadence, and we all follow along. I’ve never done heart rate-based training, but we did a lactate threshold test last week to determine what our zones are. It’ll take me a little while to make what I’m feeling match my supposed zones, but I’m excited to learn more about this. Today was tough (maybe because I’m sick) but I was still in Zone 3 and feeling pretty rough when I was trying to reach the top of Zone 4. It also could be that I didn’t do my second weekly session on Tuesday because of how crappy I was feeling. So I’m a little behind.

Key: LT (lactate threshold); BPM (beats per minute); RPM (cadence, rotations per minute); Z (zone)

The workout was as follows:

15 minute warmup

2 min 9-12BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 70RPM]

2 min 6-9BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 75RPM]

2 min 3-6BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 80RPM]

2 min @LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 85RPM]

2 min 3-6BPM above LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 90RPM]

2 min 6-9BPM above LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 95RPM]

5 min recovery

5 min high resistance/low cadence @LT [70 RPM]; 4 min easy spin

5 min moderate resistance/high cadence @LT [105 RPM]; 4 min easy spin

5 min high resistance/choice of cadence @LT; 4 min easy spin

8 x power intervals [15 seconds all out; 45 seconds recovery]

Cool down

Wow. This week didn’t feel as good as weeks 1 and 2 (in part because the workout was harder, in part because I haven’t been feeling well). But I’m guessing I’ll be in way better shape at the end of all this than I otherwise would be. I’ll be repeating this session on my own on Tuesday.

I had a homemade banana muffin on my way out the door, three bottles of water during class and inhaled some pumpkin oatmeal when I got home. The upside of a tough workout is getting to eat something delicious (guilt-free!) afterward.

*Shockingly, I stopped coughing and felt better while working out. And while out in the cold. Neither of which are pleasant situations. But they might actually be better than hacking away for the remaining hours of my day.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

