//
you're reading...
Recipes

A Complete Breakfast

Today is a work-from-home day (thanks, “thundersnow”), which means I have ample time to make a delicious, filling breakfast.

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and I never skip it. I usually pack something to eat when I get to the office (toast/PB/banana or fruit/yogurt/granola), but when I’m home and have time I really love oatmeal. Even in the summer. And not the instant or microwave kind — the slow-cooked, stovetop variety. I’ve experimented with a lot of toppings beyond the usual brown sugar, and my favorite by far is pumpkin pie oatmeal.

Now, this only works when you can find canned pumpkin (NOT pie filling) at the grocery store, but I tend to stock up so I can use it outside of fall/winter.

Warm and Comforting

  • 2/3 cup rolled oats (not instant)
  • 1 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 spoonfuls pumpkin puree
  • 1 spoonful brown sugar
  • Chopped walnuts and raisins
  • Several sprinkles cinnamon (and pumpkin pie spice, if you have it)

Now, this isn’t an exact science, and every bowl turns out a bit different. You also can experiment with other types of nuts or any other flavors you want. That’s the great thing about oatmeal — it’s a blank slate. And pretty good for you. Plus, pumpkin has great vitamins and minerals and the nuts provide healthy fats and make it filling. I’ll be sure to include more of my favorite oatmeal combinations in the future. Enjoy!

UPDATE: According to Runner’s World, oatmeal is a great pre-run meal (though, admittedly, in a smaller portion and probably with fewer toppings).

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A Complete Breakfast

  1. Ooh, I use almost the same exact recipe for my pumpkin oats. But may I recommend maple syrup instead of sugar? Its delicious! And I occasionally (ok, often) add mini marshmallows. Super yum.

    Posted by Beth | January 27, 2011, 12:36 PM
  2. ooh, pumpkin and oats sound wonderful together. I wonder if I could turn this into a cookie. Although I suppose the point here was to make a healthful meal. Sorry, I tend to destroy such things on sight 😉

    Posted by koshercorvid | January 27, 2011, 12:45 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

