//
you're reading...
Marathon, Motivation, Training, Video

Anything More Motivating…

…than an inspirational sports movie?

I think not.

Ask my roommate what her favorite film genre is, and she will tell you the above. Miracle tops the list. But she hates Rudy (and Notre Dame).

Anyway, I agree that these films have a certain motivational quality, and last night I started watching Spirit of the Marathon, a documentary that follows six runners as they train the 2005 Chicago marathon. It’s interesting because it mixes a Boston hopeful, elite runners Deena Kastor and Daniel Njega and several marathon newbies so you see what the training and racing mean to people at all levels. The filmmakers also interviewed running legends Katherine Switzer, Dick Beardsley, Frank Shorter, Paula Radcliffe — the list goes on — and incorporate the history of the 26.2 distance.

On a different level, I enjoyed the film because I ran Chicago in 2007, the year it all went to hell, so it was great to see some of the sights of the course. I remember only flashes because I was so hot and miserable and delirious and focused on crossing that finish line before some police officer tackled me that I wasn’t really in tune with my surroundings.

Needless to say, when I finished the film, I wanted to run. Immediately. Unfortunately, it was midnight and not feasible, but I was determined not to hit snooze this morning. And I didn’t. Boston is just 80 days away, and there’s no more messing around.

I also discovered that if I ever need motivation, all I need to do is find a good inspirational film or YouTube video and then get moving. I took a class on sports documentaries when I was in college, and it certainly kept me going.

If you need a little kick in the ass, Spirit of the Marathon is available in full on Hulu.

What movies, music or motivators get you up and at ’em?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Anything More Motivating…

  1. Awesome! I will check this out. Come 2/1, I’ve got to start training for my April half marathon. I’ve taken the last month off from running, so I need to do some serious motivating!

    Posted by Gym Belle | January 28, 2011, 6:40 PM
  2. yeah, this is on everytime i get on the alter-g treadmill and the memories of chicago 2007 flood my brain. in spite of the misery, it gets me motivated each time i see it!

    Posted by Jenny | January 28, 2011, 10:05 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

