//
you're reading...
Nutrition, Training

Saturday Spin Week #4

After a fun morning with the Dream Team at the High Cloud Snapple half marathon (more details to come), I had to make up for missing Saturday spin. These sessions aren’t getting any easier.

15 minute warmup

3 min 9-12BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 70RPM]

3 min 6-9BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 75RPM]

3 min 3-6BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 80RPM]

4 min @LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 85RPM]

4 min 3-6BPM above LT/3 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 90RPM]

4 min 6-9BPM above LT/2 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 95RPM]

7 min recovery

5 min high resistance/low cadence @LT [75 RPM]; 3 min easy spin

5 min moderate resistance/high cadence @LT [105 RPM]; 3 min easy spin

4 min moderate resistance/choice of cadence @LT; 3 min easy spin

8 x power intervals [6×15 seconds all out/45 seconds recovery; 2@20 sec; 2@25 sec]

Cool down

Total: 2hrs, 26.25 miles. My heart rate/cadence was more on than when I did last week’s workout on my own. So that’s positive, though I’m still having trouble matching HR, cadence and intensity.

Needless to say, I finished this workout sweaty and exhausted. And hungry. Since it was after 3 and I hadn’t had a real meal all day, I ate a very large amount of my roasted eggplant spread with pita chips, took a shower, ate a bowl of cereal and got in bed to take a nap. BLISSSSSS.

My fridge is completely empty, so I had to brave Whole Foods for my weekly grocery shopping. Thankfully, 7pm is relatively calm and I was actually able to move around and find what I needed. Along with two bags full of good food — stay tuned for this week’s AWESOME dinners — I came home with the following:

Salad bar extravaganza

Chocolate milk

Jumble cookie (the “kitchen sink” cookie aka the best cookie ever)

deathandtaxesmag.com

Best recovery meal. Ever.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

