//
you're reading...
Motivation, Training

A Readjustment Period

In the past few days of higher mileage/more intensity, I’ve been reminded how my body responds to endurance training. As though I could have forgotten.

I’m hungry all the time.

I go back and forth between jumping out of bed to run and hitting snooze five times.

Seriously. Right after my long run yesterday, I went to brunch with a group of D.C. food bloggers. I didn’t eat  until I was full, but later in the afternoon I was inhaling everything in sight. I even had to go down to 7-11 at 10pm because I was craving chocolate and figured it would be better to indulge the craving than ignore it.

And I was fully planning to wake up early and work out this morning, but when it came time to get moving, an extra hour of sleep sounded way better.

[To be fair, I did a 20-min yoga session in my room.]

Then I have days where I’m so antsy to work out that I can’t wait for my alarm to sound. I’m not going to have much of a choice but to train — and not skip workouts — once IM training gets rolling, so good to go through this readjustment now after a pretty lazy off-season.

This is going to take some getting used to.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “A Readjustment Period

  1. maybe this will help: i’m not really in high mileage and i’m still starving all the time. feel any better? 🙂

    Posted by katie | January 31, 2011, 2:49 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

