//
you're reading...
Training, Video

I Digested A Huge Gust Of Wind

If you haven’t seen this video, watch it. Even if you have, watch it again.

1:24 is how I felt during my last two runs.

I ran last night — a solid tempo — and what I thought was going to be a lovely, 45 degree evening turned into a battle against lots and lots of wind. Temperature? Moderate. It’s the hurricane-force gusts that get you. Anyway, I put in 5.33 miles with a few solid hills, average pace 7:37. It’s the first even remotely faster run I’ve done since I started training. And it felt good. I’m baaaaaack!

This morning I ran my favorite route of all time, “Bridges,” courtesy of the D.C Capital Striders Dupont group. It takes you down Rock Creek Pkwy, over the Roosevelt Bridge, over the Key Bridge, through Georgetown and back to Logan/Dupont. Unfortunately, bridges are particularly painful when it’s windy. I had some very red skin and frozen fingers when I finally returned home. 6.36 miles, 8:58 pace. Not as good as last night. While a slower pace is good every now and then, I think I need a running buddy more often to push me. Because pushing is what gets the job done.

Anyway, I also ran yesterday morning and did an hour-long spin/weight circuit before my tempo run, so I’m going to have no problem hitting my 10 hours this week. Ironman training, bring it on!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Digested A Huge Gust Of Wind

  1. YES! hurricane-type winds! I was on my bike during it, erm, BAD IDEA THERE. the 14th street bridge was a death trap. great job getting out there anyway!

    Posted by katie | February 3, 2011, 12:51 PM
  2. Seriously, I ran the mall yesterday around 4p and it was brutal!

    As for slower runs, I think they’re important every week and make me more able to push it during my intervals, tempos and some race pace at the end of the long run. It’s against my nature not to work at full effort during each run, but my performance has significantly improved since I started keeping my easy miles easy. I still have to remind myself to do this, but it’s definitely worth it!

    Posted by amy | February 3, 2011, 1:34 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

