//
you're reading...
Training

Saturday Spin Week #5

This morning was the last spin session before recovery week — and before we step it up a notch to high-intensity, anaerobic training. I’m expecting great results at the end of this.

Somehow it seems like the class has grown exponentially, which means we crowd into every last corner Conte’s has to offer. But the more the merrier, because we’re all trying to survive together. This morning was such a sweat fest that we steamed up the store windows. I’ve never been so thankful to run out into the cold.

Workout looks very similar to the last few weeks, just slightly higher starting cadences and minor changes in interval times. Here goes:

15 minute warmup (increase intensity after 10 min)

3 min 9-12BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/3 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 80RPM]

3 min 6-9BPM below LT/4 min single leg drills, Z2/3 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 85RPM]

3 min 3-6BPM below LT/2 min single leg drills, Z2/6 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 90RPM]

4 min @LT/2 min single leg drills, Z2/6 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 95RPM]

4 min 3-6BPM above LT/2 min single leg drills, Z2/5 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 100RPM]

4 min 6-9BPM above LT/2 min single leg drills, Z2/4 min moderate pace, Z3 [at 105RPM]

7 min recovery

5 min high resistance/low cadence @LT [85 RPM]; 3 min easy spin

5 min moderate resistance/high cadence @LT [100 RPM]; 3 min easy spin

4 min moderate resistance/choice of cadence @LT; 3 min easy spin

8 x power intervals [4×15 seconds all out/45 seconds recovery; 4@20 sec; 2@25 sec]

Cool down

Look at those HR spikes!

We ended up skipping out on one-leg drills after the second set and using that time primarily as recovery. Much needed, I assure you. I’m starting to get the hang of the HR thing, though the first few sets my HR was definitely too low. A part of me prefers to just ride by how I feel, though I suppose that means I won’t push myself as much as I should. However, the last two high-intensity intervals, along with the three resistance/cadence sets, were tough and I did manage to push them as hard as I was supposed to. And you can see the power interval spikes at the end.

Totals: 2:03, 26.23 miles.

Followed by my weekly Whole Foods trip, a glass of chocolate milk, beignets and granola with @BrunchGirl (check out my review on Monday) and a baking session at home. Headed to Sweat Fest Part II in a bit — yes, I caved and bought an intro pass for Bikram. I’ll report back. Today I need more water than ever…

Discussion

One thought on “Saturday Spin Week #5

  1. looks like an awesome class – i keep wishing i could be there, but i do my long run on saturdays. 🙂

    Posted by katie | February 6, 2011, 7:53 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

