//
you're reading...
About Me, Marathon, Motivation, Races

BOSTON BOSTON BOSTON

I’m giddy with excitement for Boston. In all my focus on tri training, I tend to forget that I’ve been a marathoner for much longer than one season and that I still have a few more ahead of me.

BOSTON IS IN 68 DAYS, PEOPLE!

There’s so much history around the Boston Marathon, and the challenge of qualifying (and registering, apparently) places it squarely on most runners’ bucket lists. And in a little over two months, I’ll be able to proudly wear that Adidas jacket, take a picture standing on the finish line and join the ranks of athletes who’ve participated in one of world’s most famous races.

I took some time today to read a few Boston race reports, review the course and think about my goal. Not settled on that yet, but I’m planning to sit down and evaluate goals for the entire season in the next week or so and will be sure to share. Because I need someone to keep me accountable, right? Right.

The moral of the story is that I remembered what it feels like to hang out in the start corral, run through crowds of spectators and cross the finish line, and it’s awesome. Totally different from triathlon, but exciting and motivating nonetheless. Boston won’t just be the training/throwaway race of the season — it’s not a tri, but I’m planning to kill it.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “BOSTON BOSTON BOSTON

  1. My advice, Run “easy” to The Firehouse (17 1/2 miles), run hard through the Hills – then see what’s left for the last ~4 miles from Boston College to the finish.
    Oh and most importantly – enjoy the whole experience of The Marathon.
    Have fun!

    Posted by gswoodward | February 9, 2011, 10:57 AM
  2. So excited for you! I clearly have a bit thing for this race and everything that goes with it. I used to live right on the course, where it turns off Comm Ave. Can’t wait to hear more as it gets closer!

    Posted by amy | February 11, 2011, 10:05 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Designing A Training Plan « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - February 15, 2011

  2. Pingback: Today I Am Thankful For « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - February 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

