//
you're reading...
Training

Dead Tired

I did my long run on Saturday this week because 1) I’m running a 5K on Sunday, followed by brunch with a bunch of area bloggers and 2) we’re in a recovery week for spin (meaning we’re not having formal class). This weekend is likely to be one of the last cold ones of the winter (we hope), but it was warm enough to be pleasant for the majority of the run.

I was aiming for 16 miles, just one longer than last week, since I’m planning for next weekend to be a step-down run and a little bit of a breather from mileage increases. I set out on the same path I did last week (up Connecticut)  since I enjoyed the scenery and the course incorporates some serious hills. This time I ran a little further into Maryland before heading back south toward Wisconsin and Gtown.

That’s where I miscalculated a bit. After crossing the Key Bridge, I figured I’d run down to the Memorial Bridge so I wouldn’t have to do an extra lap around my block. Then I thought that might not be enough, so I continued on the Mt. Vernon trail toward the 14th St Bridge. Wrong.

I realized when I was more than halfway between the two that I was going to hit 16 miles soon after crossing the bridge back into the District. Meaning I would still have to get from the Jefferson Memorial home. And I didn’t have much of a desire to run more than that. So after nearly being blown off the windy bridge into the Potomac, I walked about 1/4 mile to get my heart rate back down and evaluate where my body was. I managed to finish that mile (bringing my total to 17) and then walked the rest of the way home. Probably a half mile.

Needless to say, I was ready to be home, and the last thing I wanted to do was tack on an extra mile at the Undie Run, making it 18 for the day. But after scarfing down some food — that’s another thing, I was starving at mile 13 and not sure I could make it all the way in — I decided it was a can’t-miss event. See previous post.

In any case, as soon as I got home from the Undie Run I got in my bed and haven’t made much of an effort to leave it (except to eat A LOT). My body is rebelling against me a bit. My ankles are sore, I have a sore spot in my right foot and a tender place on my abs. I don’t think it was quite expecting the beating it got today. And unfortunately, tomorrow ain’t a rest day — I’ll be doing a 5K in the morning followed by a spin workout and possibly a swim. TBD, based on how I feel. But tonight it’s a sushi dinner, some peanut M&Ms and a lot of TV time.

Total: 17.0 miles (plus a .5 walking and 1.1 for the Undie Run), 2:33:05 for an average pace of 9:00 per mile.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Dead Tired

  1. Wow, you should be tired! Hopefully the sore spots will be gone in time for the race!! See you at brunch! 🙂

    Posted by Dash | February 13, 2011, 6:10 AM
  2. Congrats again on a great long run yesterday, even if it wasn’t quite what you planned. I had the same issue with my feet after my long run on Thursday. A good ice bath took care of it!

    Posted by amy | February 13, 2011, 7:01 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

