//
you're reading...
Musings, Three Things Thursday, Training

Three Things Thursday

1. The weather is beautiful here in the Nation’s Capital. Close to 70 degrees and sunny. We’ve got several days of this, according to the Weather Channel, and I’m so so excited. Unfortunately, it appears we may have another sub-40s day coming next week. Inconsistent, much?

2. I made it to boot camp class #2 this morning. I was so super sore after Monday that I couldn’t imagine making it through the Tuesday session. A few days for my muscles to loosen (trust me, I was waddling around), a swim session and some stretching and I was good to go. However, after 30 minutes worth of squats today — kid you not — I may be in for an unpleasant weekend. The upside of all this is that 1) my abs hurt like hell, meaning they’re getting a good workout 2) I finally have a reason/place to strength train and 3) it’s a lifesaver given my next point…

3. I may not be running for awhile. I’ve been ignoring this annoying pain in my left fibula (outer bone of the lower leg, about five inches above the ankle) for a few weeks and decided I really need to do something about it. I’ve had my fair share of stress fractures, so I know what they feel like and how frustrating they are to treat. Basically, you wait it out, no weight-bearing activity.

I’d like to think I’ve learned my lesson, but the temptation to run is too great, especially when I have big races coming up that require weeks and weeks of training. I don’t have time for this nonsense. So I’m going to see an orthopedic surgeon (not until March 1, unfortunately, as EVERY PRACTICE IN TOWN is booked until after then) and then I’ll know for sure what’s going on and how to treat it. And I can come up with a game plan. And no running until then.

Pool, anyone? Lots of it?

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. I really hope its not a stress fracture and you’re actually fine, but I’m in the pool 4 days a week anyways. You’re welcome to join our pool running club. And I might be willing to swim with people in a few weeks, too!

    Posted by Beth | February 17, 2011, 9:49 PM
  2. Take care of that leg! I agree with Beth, join the cool pool runners! 🙂

    Posted by Dash | February 18, 2011, 8:04 AM
  3. I’m catching up on my blog reading backwards so commented on your more recent one first before I saw Beth putting the same invite out there. We’re usually at WL M/W mornings at 6. I’ve been doing my intervals in the pool too on T mornings. Come join us!

    Posted by amy | February 18, 2011, 9:15 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

