//
you're reading...
Training

Saturday Spin Week #7

We’re now in the anaerobic speed/power phase of this 10-week spin program, and I’m not sure whether I like it more or less than the strength/endurance portion. They’re both hard.

Anyway, I had to go to class and then speed home to turn around and head south to Durham, where my sisters are in school and my parents were visiting for the weekend. It was so nice to get out of DC and spend some quality time with my family (plus eat at my favorite restaurants and go shopping for spring). More motivation to work hard at spin.

Here’s what we did:

15-minute warmup

5 x (40 sec HI, 20 sec LOW) at 85RPM

3 min recovery

Repeat three times, increasing RPM by 5 each time

10 min Z2

6 min High Z3/4 min Low Z4/3 min Mid Z4/2 min High Z4/60 sec Max @ 85 RPM

5 min recovery

Repeat twice, increasing RPM by 5

6 min cooldown

As you can see, the workouts are much less complex — fewer sets and longer at each intensity level. My HR and cadence were all over the place though. Total distance 25.44 miles.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Saturday Spin Week #7

  1. Those spin classes seem so hard core! Doing that inside seems harder to me than riding hills/sprints outside. Excellent workout!

    Posted by Beth | February 22, 2011, 11:36 AM
  2. Ugh, it was so hard. I think I like this slightly better, because I’m an endurance kind of girl, but I was feeling terrible on Saturday. And I keep putting off doing the second workout…

    Posted by lizard151 | February 23, 2011, 6:14 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

