//
you're reading...
Gear, Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday

1. Still waiting on that orthopedic appointment. It’s on Tuesday, which means I have a few more days until I know what’s wrong with my leg. I’m starting to think (hope?) it might not be as bad as I originally guessed — which would be great news — but I’m still focused on caution and recovery rather than pushing myself to further injury. It definitely sucks when everyone at boot camp is running (and I know I could outrun them all by a lot) and I’m over in the corner doing something else by myself.

2. I’m still trying to figure out how to get sufficient workouts in around the rest of my life, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I will just have to get used to eating dinner after 9pm and setting an alarm for 5:30am each and every morning. I can’t imagine how much harder it would be if my work schedule wasn’t so flexible/I had longer hours.

3. I’m becoming a bag lady. Thankfully I can — and do — drive to work, the pool, the track, etc. and therefore don’t always have to metro with all my gear, including my laptop, but it’s still such a process to organize, pack and tote what I need from the time I leave my apartment in the morning until I return late evening. The food issue is particularly challenging — managing, preparing and toting breakfast, snack, lunch, snack and fluids means a lot of Ziploc bags and Tupperware, especially since I don’t ever eat out at work and do my best not to grocery shop at the Safeway downstairs (which is SO bleak) on a daily basis.

Does anyone else have to carefully plan and schedule their workouts and meals? And then carry an absurd amount of stuff everywhere? I guess this is why people keep their cars stocked with outfits and gear for every occasion…

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. You’re definitely doing the right thing with your leg. I’m in PT right now, and I’m embarrassed at how well my leg is responding to treatment. Maybe if I had just taken care of myself a few months ago I never would have gotten to this dire point? Also I feel like my inability to pack all that stuff in the morning is keeping me from reaching my athletic potential 😉

    Posted by lizard151 | February 24, 2011, 11:00 AM
  2. My backpack is HUGE, and looks ridiculous sometimes. I feel like packing takes so much time that emptying the old and figuring out the new the first thing I do when I get home at night, usually while dinner is cooking and always before I shower :). I also have to remember an ice-pack because things from the fridge/freezer don’t do very well sitting on a pool bleacher for an hour or two. The worst is when I forget to take that kind of stuff out of my bag when I get to work. Really very sad all around.

    Posted by amy | February 24, 2011, 11:13 AM
  3. fingers crossed for your appt!

    I am a total bag lady. I think I left my office with three yesterday. When you have to plan for multiple workouts, all your personal stuff AND food (which takes a bag in itself obviously) it ends up being a lot. You’re lucky you drive everywhere!

    Posted by Emily | February 24, 2011, 11:47 AM
  4. i’m still living in denial and trying to get everyone in one bag. sigh.

    Posted by katie | February 24, 2011, 12:07 PM
  5. Haha, I carry 2 bags on the metro every day and have a huge pile of clean/dirty/still wearable gym and work clothes at work for all contingencies. And a snack drawer and shelf. Its ridiculous.

    Posted by Beth | February 24, 2011, 9:21 PM
  6. I have bags all over my house for pool/running/gym. Luckily my home is my epicenter. Take care of your leg, hope you get it worked out. You triathletes make me feel like a wimp, and also very tired! 🙂

    Posted by Dash | February 25, 2011, 4:49 AM
  7. I totally feel you on #2 and #3 – in order to fit in the workouts I need, I do a lot of two-a-days, meaning alarm goes off at 5am and I end up getting home around 9pm… Most nights I eat dinner in bed and literally fall asleep with my face in a bowl full of salad!

    As for the bags, I keep on set of the essentials in the car and then tote 3 bags (purse, work bag, gym bag) with me every day. Thank goodness I can drive as well, I can’t imagine the bus with so many bags!

    Posted by tri ninja | March 6, 2011, 1:24 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

