//
you're reading...
Motivation, Musings, Training

Apparently Anything’s Possible

I love Saturday spin, but man, have I struggled to match the effort I put out in class in my at-home sessions.

Not tonight.

Tonight I motivated myself — with no help from Ron’s yelling at everyone — to push to my limit. And I think it was as strong or stronger than Saturday’s performance. The metrics look very similar and are right on:

I also felt good for the whole workout and was actually excited to get to those hard intervals because I knew I could push through them. Total time: 2:00:00, 26.09 miles.

I also managed to drag myself out of bed this morning to head back to the pool. I haven’t been sleeping well, so this was somewhat of a chore, but when I arrived at Wilson at 6am and the pool was completely empty, I was pumped. And I only had to share a lane with one other person for the entire hour. Success.

I started out with our traditional “meet warmup” and then went into part of the IM workout I did last night. Again, I’m all about variation in stroke, distance and speed to keep things interesting.

400 MI (backwards IM), kick 25/swim 25

400 free, drill/swim

6 x 200 [100 IM, 75 free fast, 25 recovery back]

300 kick

4 x 50 free, build

Total: 1 hr, 2500m

I’m planning to swim tomorrow and Friday, which would make four days in a row. I think I’ll be ready to go when my first race rolls around?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Apparently Anything’s Possible

  1. Those are some great workouts! I am definitely going to steal that swim sometime!

    And I sometimes have trouble sleeping when I’m dehydrated, just something to look out for!

    Posted by Beth | March 3, 2011, 6:50 AM
  2. 4 days in a row? you’re going to be kicking ass and taking names in the water.

    Posted by Emily | March 3, 2011, 11:49 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

