//
you're reading...
Musings, Training

Skin is Waterproof

This morning I fully intended to get up early, run six to eight on the road and then do the equivalent in the pool.

When my alarm went off it was raining, and my bed was comfortable, and I didn’t rally until 10am. I drove to Wilson to run from there, and it was pouring. But I figured I wouldn’t melt, and I had to get the miles in, so I headed out in my new shoes and rain gear. About two miles in, I realized my leg was hurting a little bit, and in the name of smart training, I decided not to ignore it. I’m scared to jump right back in — I’d rather finish my recovery than have to start over. So I turned around, back to Wilson. Oh well.

Total: 4.25 miles

I didn’t have as much time in the pool as I would have liked, thanks to my late start and a 2pm date with some cupcakes, so just an hour in the water. But I was working a little harder than I was on the road, so I’ll average it out at 9:00/mile (though it could be closer to 8:30 or lower). Anyway, that gives me a little under 7 miles, for a total of 11 miles on the day.

Emily made a really great point this afternoon — that the best way to be prepared for and ok with crappy race day weather is to train in all conditions (rain, cold, extreme heat, etc.). So I won’t shy away from the rain anymore. Instead, I’ll stay committed to my workout plan, irrespective of the weather. Because skin is waterproof, right?

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Skin is Waterproof

  1. sometimes you dont feel like getting out of bed and unday is the hardest! good job on the workouts..

    cheers

    Posted by bearrunner | March 6, 2011, 7:30 PM
  2. Really good call on turning back. I always have to remember how mad at myself I’ll be if I push through that kind of pain and then have to sit out for even longer.

    Posted by wishyouworkedhere | March 7, 2011, 9:53 AM
  3. I am very wise.

    Please remind me of my wisdom when I’m hiding in my bed on a cold, rainy morning looking longingly at my bike.

    Posted by Emily | March 7, 2011, 11:49 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

