//
you're reading...
Motivation, Training

PT: Reporting Back

Monday was my first appointment with the awesome crew over at Sport + Spinal Physical Therapy in Foggy Bottom. SSPT is a great Tri Club partner — they host clinics and provide discounted screenings and bike fits — and they specialize in working with athletes. So they’re not just any ol’ PT practice.

Unfortunately, they’re also not covered under my insurance, but that’s a story for another day.

Anyway, I told Brian all about my problem, what Dr. D had told me, my horrible history with stress injuries and my current training regimen. I got a gold star for listening to my body, stopping when I felt pain and pool running! Anyway, he did some massage work, looking for muscle “trigger points” that were particularly tight and could be causing some of the discomfort. And damn, are my calf muscles in bad shape. I don’t stretch, but now I know I should.

Anyway, he put me on the treadmill for a mile or so to see how my leg would react. It started hurting a little bit, but I mainly notice the pain now when I mash on the spot or cross my legs or otherwise apply pressure. So he gave me some stretches to do after my workouts and introduced me to my new best friend:

THE FOAM ROLLER.

I’ll be spending some time with this nifty tool, rolling out all the kinks in my calf muscles. Did you know that this thing hurts? Because it does. But I can tell it’s helping already, so I’m willing to follow Brian’s instructions.

In summary, the plan is this: refrain from running through the weekend, stretch/roll religiously and go out for an easy mile or two on Monday. At that point I can let Brian know if I’ve made progress so we can create an action plan — limited running, more sessions, etc. Wish me luck.

So what’s your experience with PT? Positive or negative? Did it speed your recovery?

Discussion

5 thoughts on “PT: Reporting Back

  1. I have had a TERRIBLE PT experience. I could go on and on, but I won’t i hope yours goes well!

    Posted by Sana | March 10, 2011, 9:59 PM
  2. Yep, foam rollers can really really hurt. But I love it! Hope the PT goes well and you are back to running well soon!

    Posted by Beth | March 11, 2011, 9:55 AM
  3. I’m particularly partial to PT, both because I’ve had good experiences and because if I don’t say that I might end up divorced. I’ve found though that it’s less about the appointments and more about how much you’re willing to do on your own (which I know you’ll be willing to do tons). Too many people go once a week expecting the appointments to fix everything but then aren’t willing to put the work in on the other days.

    Also, so happy to hear about the foam roller! I have a few (even a baby travel size one), stashed under my desk, in our basement, in the bedroom. Pretty much anywhere I spend time and find myself with 5-10 free minutes. They definitely hurt but are the best preventative tool I’ve ever seen.

    Posted by Amy | March 11, 2011, 10:18 AM
  4. the foam roller is my boyfriend.

    Posted by katie | March 11, 2011, 1:48 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: National Half Marathon Race Report « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - March 26, 2011

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

