//
you're reading...
Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday

The Off-My-Game Edition:

1. This week — not awesome. After a really solid month or so of training, nothing about the past few days has been good. I’ve had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning, I’ve felt slow and sluggish and it’s showing in my performance. I know my totals for this week are going to be on the low low low side. Add in sucky weather, other daily frustrations and my desperate need for a vacation, and we’re talking CRANKY. But it can only go up from here, right?

2. I’m hoping the answer to that question is yes. Big day/exciting news tomorrow– check back for more!

3. I have become a bottomless pit. I know I’ve said this before, but I eat  A LOT. I require three solid meals and multiple “snacks” — which really could be considered meals — and then I have times where I just open the fridge and eat whatever I can get my hands on. Last night, for example, I arrived home from work, starving, and thought it would be a great idea to eat a large amount of hummus and a cupcake before my 1.5 hour ride. Maybe I was wrong about that. Anyway, I’m finding that although I burn calories like crazy and don’t necessarily need to cut back on the quantity I’m getting, I probably should put a little bit more thought into the quality/type. Beth had a great post yesterday about protein, and I realized I have no idea how much fat/carbs/protein/nutrients I take in on a given day. Goal for next week: figure it out!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

  1. A good site for tracking macronutrients is MyPlate from livestrong.com. Very simple to use.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | March 10, 2011, 12:41 PM
  2. My eating schedule typically looks something like: 3 breakfasts, lunch, dessert, snack, snack, dinner, snack, dessert. Plus (definitely not minus) a few snacks. I track using the mypyramidtracker.gov. Its not fancy, but I like that its super uncomplicated and gives fun graphs/averages/etc. Don’t freak out when you see your totals for the first time!

    Posted by Beth | March 10, 2011, 12:58 PM
  3. I could have written this post. I’m having a slug post too. What’s the deal and when will it be over?

    Posted by Emily | March 10, 2011, 1:19 PM
  4. I’m having a sluggish week too! And I can’t stop eating! What is UP? I think maybe the weather is contributing, plus we’re in that weird place between seasons. Plus I’m in that weird place in my current training cycle where I’m race-ready but have 2 weeks to go, which means I spend every day just wishing it would go by. At least we’ve got strength in numbers!

    Posted by katie | March 10, 2011, 1:23 PM
  5. I have weeks like this all the time. It helps to think about past really good weeks instead of focusing on how crappy the current one is. Liz suggested bookmarking any posts you’ve done during the good weeks so that you can easily get to them in the bad.

    As for eating, Beth’s description is pretty accurate. I don’t track anything though formally. If I pay attention to any numbers it’s usually overall protein (which I count in my head).

    Posted by Amy | March 10, 2011, 2:22 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

