//
you're reading...
Motivation, Training

Ups and Downs

Tonight I’m capping off my bad week and starting over in hopes this one will be better. I haven’t had a single successful workout since last Saturday and, along with work-related stress and continuing bike drama, it’s been a rough seven days.

I did have one bright spot yesterday — it was warm enough to ride outside! After a rough LT test to cap off an awesome spin series and a mediocre swim in a super-crowded lane at Wilson, I was able to get in a few long laps down at Hains Point.

It was sunny and warm but crazy windy, which presents a huge challenge for half of each loop. I also discovered that I still have a lot of work to do on the bike before my first race. After weeks of working hard at spin, I’m expecting results. So I’m chalking up the poor performance to 1) my bad week 2) my third workout of the day 3) limited caloric intake and 4) my bike. My old Specialized feels heavy and it seems to drag. I know the machine powering the ride is more important than the ride itself, but I can’t wait to get my new wheels out on the road. This week…*fingers crossed*

The other weekend bonuses? Daylight savings time, a fun running blogger dinner and an ACC championship/#1 seed. Enough said.

First up in my “refresh” week — A RUN. First thing in the morning, 2-3 miles, hopefully pain-free. Wish me luck.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. Sending good thoughts on this this morning’s run! Hope to see you tonight at the pool!

    Posted by amy | March 14, 2011, 8:15 AM
  2. oooh, yeah, what’s the latest in the tales of the bike?

    Posted by katie | March 14, 2011, 10:10 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

