//
you're reading...
Cycling, Gear, Training

Tempting Fate

This afternoon I packed up my trainer and put it under my bed. I can’t stand looking at it anymore, and I want to believe that outdoor riding weather is here to stay. Tempting fate? Maybe. But I’m ready for spring.

This morning I hit a route very popular with area cyclists — one I never managed to do last season. Too many Beach Dr. sessions. Anyway, out of Georgetown, along McArthur Rd. and into Maryland. There are multiple variations and add-ons once you get going, but since I’d never ridden it before and I was by myself, I just went out for 18.5 miles and turned around for a total ride of 37. Not a significant distance, but a good first time out to enjoy the awesome weather. The route also has a few hills, so there’s that.I definitely need the climbing practice.

Average speed 16.3mph, which is definitely something I need to work on. A lot of the DC Tri group rides each week average higher, and I’d love to go out with other people and not get dropped. I think now that I’m back on the road I’ll be able to work on that, along with climbing. There’s only so much you can do on the trainer.

Other observations from the day:

–My new helmet is AWESOME. I’ve had it on my list for awhile, and yesterday I was in Georgetown at the Apple store, had some time to kill and wandered down to Bicycle Pro Shop. They had exactly what I wanted, so I figured now is as good a time as any to go for it. It was pricey, but my old one was cheap and never really sat well on my head. I keep telling myself that once I drop all this cash on gear, I don’t have to do it again. Right?

–I somehow managed to lose THREE SCREWS in the cleat of my right shoe, all at the same time. The fourth was about to pop as well. Thankfully I was nearly back to my car — not 20 miles out — but my foot essentially wasn’t connected to my pedal. Bad news. According to the nice guy at the Bike Rack who gave me new ones, the rough road can shake the cleats loose. Add that to my list of things to check before every ride.

Planning to go 60 tomorrow. We’ll see how well that works out.

Discussion

One thought on “Tempting Fate

  1. 37 = equals not a significant distance. Haha. I’m pretty sure it just about equals my longest to date so I’m impressed!

    Posted by amy | March 21, 2011, 7:34 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

