//
you're reading...
About Me, Musings

Sensory Overload

I am extremely sensitive to smells and sounds. The former are mainly with people — I notice and react to distinct individual scents — but sounds apply more widely in terms of things I do and do not like.

This seems weird, I know. But when it comes to training, there are a few sounds I absolutely love.

–The beeping/vibrating of Garmin watches

–Shifting bike gears

–Clipping in with clipless pedals

–The initial clean splash off the blocks for swimming events

–The start gun

A bunch of people doing these things at the same time? Even better.

Plus one smell I have a very mixed love/hate relationship with: chlorine.

Do you have any weird sensory things that you really like/dislike when it comes to training?

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Sensory Overload

  1. I like the way I breathe when I run, the sound is like a rhythm. So easy to get lost into.

    Posted by Sana | March 20, 2011, 6:50 PM
  2. I personally love the starting horn for swimming. And seeing backstroke flags overhead because it means it’s almost time for the best part: the flip turn.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | March 20, 2011, 7:22 PM
  3. I love the sound of feet pounding the ground on a long group run!

    Posted by Beth | March 20, 2011, 7:42 PM
  4. The start of a race is always my favorite, once you get beyond the cheers and only hear feet.

    As for smells, the tall girl says I have the nose of a blood hound, and most smells bother me. Charleston streets offered a mix of old beer and antiseptic from cleaning the beer. Terrible!

    Posted by amy | March 21, 2011, 7:47 AM
  5. I love this list! I can hear it all in my head and it’s making me smile.

    I also love the click click of ski boots clipping in.

    Posted by Emily | March 21, 2011, 3:13 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

