//
you're reading...
Training

Pool Problems

Wilson and I are having a fight. Which is sucky, because I have been banished to the pool for a whole week to recover from Saturday’s kick-ass, PR-inducing race.

I arrived at the pool at 5:55 this morning with big plans to run for an hour. That would give me plenty of time to sit in the hot tub, come home and stretch, stuff my face and get to the Hill for a 10am hearing.

But when they finally let people in at 6am (actually 6:05, because Wilson is perpetually five minutes behind the real world), the lifeguard informed the crowd that the competition (50m) pool was closed due to lack of chemicals. What does that mean?

We’re all swimming in the shallow, 3-lane 20myd rec pool.

Wilson employees, I have news for you: THAT POOL HAS NO CHEMICALS EITHER. Have you ever tested that water? It’s disgusting. One thing I learned during club swimming in middle/high school was never to swim in the rec pool. It’s where all the little kids play and it’s dirty and salty and the PH is way way off. Why do you think I avoided my meet event warmups/cooldowns like the plague?

But since it’s a trek to get to Wilson and I was already awake and couldn’t run outside anyway, I decided to give it a shot.

First problem: the pool isn’t deep enough to run. So I grabbed my goggles and cap and planned to swim instead. Problem #2: aside from the water being warm and gross, the lanes are short by 3-5m 7m, making laps and distance very difficult to count, not to mention major interruption in stroke b/c of the constant turns. And finally: the Wilson HS team was using one lane and two guys were swimming sides in another, so the last lane was open for me and three other people I was lapping like crazy.

I did 1000m (yes, the full amount because I supplemented with 10 extra lengths) and then got cranky and left. I made it home with enough time to do some strength circuits in my apartment and then stretch, so really I managed two workouts in one. Gotta make lemonade out of those lemons, right?

Back to Wilson this evening for another — real — swim. Let’s hope they’ve resolved this problem.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Pool Problems

  1. ugh, that would make me SUPER SUPER STABBY. how annoying.

    Posted by katie | March 29, 2011, 1:51 PM
  2. Eit. So glad I swam yesterday morning. (Also I think the on-deck clocks at Wilson run fast. Bizzare.)

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | March 29, 2011, 1:53 PM
  3. Kids pool = pee pool. Not ok.

    Posted by Beth | March 30, 2011, 12:23 PM
  4. hey- I am hosting a blogger wine and cheese party at my place sometimes soon (no exact date set yet). There are a few of us triathlon blogger ladies in the area and I want to get us all together to actually meet. Shoot me an email at leriley@gmail.com if you are interested and want to be added to the email chain! 🙂

    Posted by Lauren | March 30, 2011, 3:14 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

