//
you're reading...
Recipes

Spicy Tortilla/Shrimp/Avocado Soup

Still going strong on my Cooking Light challenge. One thing I really like about the magazine is that it has awesome recipes that you can prepare in a half hour or less — ideal for post-workout meals.

Tonight was BABY’S FIRST RIDE OUTSIDE (more on that later), but because the weather was fantastic and I had two workout buddies to keep me company, I stayed out a little longer than planned.

[This makes me feel like a little kid playing in the yard during the summer who then refuses to come in for dinner…]

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to find that one of the recipes I’d picked out was in the 20-minutes-or-less section. So I ran to Whole Foods to pick up some shrimp — avoided the temptation to eat at the salad bar — and came home to prepare Spicy Tortilla Soup with Shrimp and Avocado:

  • 1  tablespoon  olive oil
  • 1  cup  chopped onion
  • 1/3  cup chopped celery
  • 1/3  cup  chopped carrot
  • 1  tablespoon  minced chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cumin
  • 1  teaspoon  chili powder
  • 2  teaspoons  minced garlic
  • 4  cups  fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1  (15-ounce) can white hominy, rinsed and drained
  • 1  (15-ounce) can no-salt-added fire-roasted diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 12  ounces  peeled and deveined medium shrimp
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lime juice
  • 1/8  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  cup  lightly crushed baked tortilla chips (about 1 ounce)
  • 1  cup  diced avocado (about 1/2 pound)
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh cilantro leaves (optional)

1. Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion and next 6 ingredients (through garlic); cook 6 minutes or until carrot is crisp-tender, stirring occasionally. Add broth, hominy, and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Cover and cook 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add shrimp; cook 2 minutes or until shrimp are done.

2. Remove from heat; stir in juice and salt. Divide shrimp mixture evenly among 4 bowls; top evenly with chips and avocado. Garnish with cilantro, if desired.

Notes: I didn’t have tortilla chips (because let’s be honest, I don’t need a bag of those sitting around) or cilantro, so I did without those. Even though it technically is “tortilla soup.” Oh well. I wish I’d had tortillas to either dip or toast and break into the bowl, however, as that would have added a nice crunch and some mild flavor. This stuff was SPICY. And I don’t do spice that well — so my nose was running and my eyes watering as I finished the serving.

In any case, 30 minutes start to finish, and that’s only because I chopped the veggies myself rather than buying prechopped, as the recipe said. Super easy, flavorful, filling and something totally out of the ordinary as far as weeknight dinners go. Enjoy!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Spicy Tortilla/Shrimp/Avocado Soup

  1. I guess I should have warned you that it was kind of spicy! You could use some plain yogurt (with garlic powder or some other flavor) as a sour-cream type topping to cool it off.

    Posted by Rachel | April 4, 2011, 9:23 PM
  2. That soup looks amazing! You seriously inspire me to do a much better job in the kitchen. I almost never make stuff like this and there’s really no reason not to if it only takes 30 minutes. I’m making this my new goal!

    Posted by amy | April 5, 2011, 7:55 AM
  3. Mmmm, I love spice, maybe I’ll try this one!

    Posted by katie | April 5, 2011, 11:37 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

