//
you're reading...
Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday: The Shutdown

Unfortunately, the first week of IM training has been crazy busy, and I don’t forsee relief anytime soon.

1. We’re getting closer and closer to Friday at midnight, at which point the federal government will shut down unless Congress gets its shit together and passes some sort of spending bill. Unfortunately, this is looking very unlikely. While feds will be off — though potentially unpaid  — for as long as the shutdown lasts, I’ll be working through the weekend to cover how all this goes down. That sucks. I’ve got a long ride on Saturday and a race on Sunday (which may be postponed, however) and other fun plans, none of which involve being glued to my phone or computer. Kinda wishing it was Boston weekend already…

2. This morning I completed my second ride outside on the new bike. It is awesome, but totally different from my road bike and the aero position is taking some getting used to. Not the same as clip-on bars, that’s for sure. I also think I’m going to need a new seat — I last about 10 minutes before I get super uncomfortable and have to keep shifting or standing. I’ll be calling Adam about this in the next week or so.

3. I’ve faced temptation to sign up for several races in the last week. I’m trying really hard not to add to my schedule for this year, as I think after IM in September my body is going to want a break. And races actually get in the way of training b/c you can’t complete your long weekend rides and runs. I’ve also resisted the urge to go ahead and start scheduling for next year, in part because I don’t currently have the cash, even for discounted entries. Damn you, temptation!

Do you have any of the above problems? Don’t judge me on them, though my life isn’t all bad! The weater is looking great and Boston is just a little more than a week away, so I’m good to go…

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: The Shutdown

  1. join the shutdown-hate club. i got the go ahead to leave town but have to have my blackberry “glued to me” during my friend’s wedding. fun times.

    Posted by Emily | April 7, 2011, 2:23 PM
  2. hmmm. we shall discuss #2 this weekend. and #3, me too, trying to not sign up for races that are past july. trying. ugh.

    Posted by katie | April 7, 2011, 2:28 PM
  3. I’m keeping what’s next out of my mind until at least May 2. If I make it until then it’ll be a miracle.

    So good to hear that you’re loving the bike!

    Posted by amy | April 7, 2011, 2:39 PM
  4. I am struggling to not sign up for any more races. I keep seeing people sign up for fall marathons and I’m faltering.

    I really want to hear more about your new ride!! Maybe we’ll talk gear at our hill tastic blogger meet-up 🙂

    Posted by Beth | April 7, 2011, 2:56 PM
  5. the first thing I did with my bike was change the seat! if your ass has to be in that seat for 7+ hours it better be comfy! I like the lady specific seats that dont squash your ya know.

    Posted by Lauren | April 7, 2011, 4:32 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

