//
you're reading...
Races

Another Marathon in 2011

Well, I warned you.

Hello, my name is Emily and I have a racing addiction.

Still on a post-Boston high, I managed to sign up for another marathon this year. I wasn’t planning on doing anything of the sort because Ironman isn’t until September and I have no idea how my body will react to all that stress. And I really didn’t want to commit to training for yet another event after that when I know that all I want to do is start my off-season, drink beer and hang out with the friends I neglected for months.

Well. I have lots of enablers in my life, some of whom are planning to head to Philadelphia in November. What am I going to do? Join them, of course!

I’ll be running the Philly Marathon on Nov. 20 — a little more than two months after IM. It’ll be a fun weekend with friends, it’s a great course and I think I’ll be able to maintain my fitness/endurance enough to at least enjoy it. And if I’m not up for 26.2, there’s a half at the same time.

DONE.

And on Saturday night, after a few drinks, I convinced Rachel to come along for her second 13.1. I’m such a good friend.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Another Marathon in 2011

  1. enabler speaking, i’m very pleased you registered for this race. it’s going to be an awesome time.

    Posted by Emily | May 2, 2011, 9:23 AM
  2. I’m not sure that sober Rachel supports drunk Rachel’s decision to register 🙂

    Posted by Rachel | May 2, 2011, 9:46 AM
  3. i’ll be there, although i haven’t registered yet. running the half, not the full, although i did go HMMMMMM…..

    Posted by katie | May 2, 2011, 4:59 PM
  4. Think you may need to start a local chapter of Racing Addicts Anonymous. You would make a great chair/CEO. Haha……..knew you couldn’t say NO. Remember, I’ve known you longer than anyone else!! And after all, what are friends for? So sorry, Rachel!! I should have warned you!

    Posted by Jenny | May 2, 2011, 5:47 PM
  5. Gah, not you too?!?!?! I am SO tempted to sign up but I have myself on a no marathon registrations until September ban.

    Posted by Beth | May 8, 2011, 6:00 PM

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other subscribers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other subscribers