//
you're reading...
About Me, Motivation

Don’t Talk To Me…

…before I’ve gotten my morning workout in.

As I make a habit out of getting up at the crack of dawn to swim/bike/run, I’m learning that I’m a much more pleasant person if I start my day with some sweat. Sometimes I feel like I need to sleep in, but I always, Always, ALWAYS will feel better if I get up and go. I’ve never regretted a workout,  but I have had some miserable days without one.

[Doesn’t apply to *planned* rest days, even though those are hard to take. I know.]

Anyway, my morning workout is to me what coffee is to most people. Or in my mother’s case, a glass of orange juice. Seriously. The first thing she does when she wakes up is head to the fridge. Definitely don’t expect anything from her before that business is taken care of. Similarly, I’m likely to be cranky if you catch me before a pool session or run.

So when my alarm goes off at 5:20am and I really just want to roll over and skip my swim, I have to remind myself that that would be doing everyone else around me a disservice — and qualifies as a sucky training strategy.

Am I alone as a morning workout person, or do y’all also have to sweat before you become a real person for the day?

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Don’t Talk To Me…

  1. Oh yes — I work out as a service to others.

    Posted by Cris | May 10, 2011, 11:18 AM
  2. I am a much more pleasant person if I’ve sweat in the morning. But also don’t stand between me and coffee 🙂

    Posted by Beth | May 10, 2011, 11:43 AM
  3. I HATE waking up early but I am consumed with guilt if I skip a work out. ..most of the time 😉

    Posted by Lauren | May 10, 2011, 11:49 AM
  4. My mom was also a die-hard morning OJ person. Weird.

    I’m (obviously) similar with morning workouts. I usually defer Tuesday workouts until evening so that I can swim with master’s, but otherwise, it’s mornings.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | May 10, 2011, 11:59 AM
  5. just ask the rocketship about the time we took separate metro cars last week because i missed my morning sweat. yeah, that happened.

    Posted by Emily | May 10, 2011, 12:17 PM
  6. I have no idea what I would do without my morning workout. Sometimes I take a rest day and I’m like, WTF am I supposed to do right now? Clean?

    Posted by katie | May 10, 2011, 3:45 PM
  7. Always in the morning. I do enjoy the occasional morning of sleeping in, you know until 630, but for the most part I’m out the door in the dark and done before most people get up. My best days start like that.

    Posted by amy | May 12, 2011, 10:10 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

