//
you're reading...
Goals, Races

The Kinetic Goal Post

We’re just a few days out from the first half IM of the season and the first real test of my tri fitness. I’m really excited to see how far all those hours of training have gotten me, and I’m definitely going in with some confidence in my ability to perform.

My Boston goal post was a bit hesitant because I wasn’t sure how my body would hold up against 26.2 on a tough course. I know I’m prepared for swim/bike/run at the 70.3 distance, but it’s been seven months since my last tri. A lot has changed since then — and while I can guesstimate my pace and abilities in each individual discipline, it’s a bit harder to know how it will go down when I put it all together with an open water swim and transitions.

Ass Shot -- And My Stunning Transitions

That said, here’s what I’m shooting for on Saturday (in order of ease):

Goal #1: PR — sub – 6:00

My half IM last year came in at 6:01:24. Granted, this was an even 70 rather than a 70.3 (so the swim was .3 miles short), but the course was incredibly hilly and I was woefully unprepared for the distance. I was so proud of myself for even finishing the bike course in one piece that I came into transition with a huge grin on my face despite how much I was hurting. This time around I know that even with the longer swim I’m in better shape in every discipline and have a better sense of what’s coming to me.

Goal #2: Podium

I still have the good fortune of being in the youngest — and smallest — female age group (though as of May 2 I have to face the fact that I’ll be aging up come Dec. 31) and therefore have less competition when it comes to podium spots. It’s all relative, of course, so if the other under-25 ladies are super fast then I’ve got some work to do. But there are seven total in the bunch, and I want to be up there with the top three. I managed to accomplish that at three of my four races last year, and I’d like to keep it up while I can.

Goal #3: Qualify for Halfmax

Kinetic is a qualifying race for the national 70.3 championships in Myrtle in October, which means I can accomplish this in one of two ways. I can place in the top two in my age group. Or I can go sub-5:40. I’ll take whichever one works.

This goal is purely for my own enjoyment. I can still race Halfmax by just signing up myself, but I won’t do that because it’s 1) more expensive 2) less than a month after IM and 3) kinda loses its allure if I don’t actually qualify. So, this is more for my checklist than anything else.

Goal #4: sub…

Sorry, suckaaaaas. This one’s in my head and on paper somewhere but isn’t going on the blog. You can drive yourselves crazy trying to guess what it is, or try to calculate it, or whatever, but this is my secret. I liked having something at Boston that was all mine, and I’m going to continue that tradition. Even if you guess it, I won’t admit that you’re right. Check back on Saturday. I have a lot of confidence about this race and though I know this goal will be tough, why bother doing all this if it’s not a challenge?

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Kinetic Goal Post

  1. Good luck!!! I can’t wait to read all the race recaps!

    Posted by lauren | May 11, 2011, 5:41 PM
  2. I LOVE this post and how unbelievably prepared/confident you are about this race. Can’t wait to hear about it!

    Posted by amy | May 11, 2011, 5:55 PM
  3. Go kick some butt. You’ve got it.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | May 11, 2011, 6:04 PM
  4. This goal system seemed to work for you in Boston. I think it’s a good trend……..xoxo

    Posted by Jenny | May 11, 2011, 8:13 PM
  5. Great goals! Good luck meeting them! You’re going to kick booty with all your IM training!! With my foot injury and this being my first half, I have NO clue what to expect on Saturday. I spent all of last week being unsure whether I would actually do the race, so now that I know I am I’m trying to switch gears to thinking about how the race will actually go, ah! I can’t believe it’s this Saturday already!

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | May 11, 2011, 9:30 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Kinetic Half Ironman Race Report « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - May 16, 2011

  2. Pingback: Kinetic Half Ironman Goals, Reexamined « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - May 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

