//
you're reading...
Recipes

Boozy Cupcakes and A Dinner Party

Why was my post-race Sunday glorious? Because I woke up to this:

No alarm to set, no workout to complete. Thanks TrainingPeaks!

So I lounged in bed for the first time in…uh…a long time, made a leisurely breakfast, wandered to the grocery store late morning and cleaned my bike. Then I crashed Katie’s backyard for some sun time and came home to prepare for a lovely blogger pasta extravaganza, hosted by the lovely Lauren. Ten girls, eight pounds of pasta and lots of dessert. Yeah.

I always welcome an opportunity to try new recipes, so I brought an appetizer, a side dish and a dessert. First up, Strawberry Avocado Dip, adapted from Cooking Light:

Now, this looks like normal guacamole, right? But not so — what appear to be tomatoes are actually strawberries, and that gives the dish a little bit of sweetness. It’s great served with the standard tortilla chips but also with cinnamon sugar pita chips. I KNOW.

  • 1 1/2 cups finely chopped peeled ripe avocado (about 2)
  • 1 cup finely chopped strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon minced seeded jalapeño pepper
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
  • 3/8 teaspoon salt

Combine all ingredients, stir gently and serve.

Notes: When I make dips of any kind, I don’t really follow exact measurements. My final product had more avocado and strawberry for the same amount of all the other ingredients. Also, like avocado dishes in general, this browns quickly if you do not store it in an airtight container.

To supplement all the delicious carbs Lauren was preparing — three kinds of pasta with all kinds of meat and cheese and veggies to thrown on top, I also made Asparagus with Balsamic-Roasted Tomatoes:

  • 1 pound asparagus, trimmed
  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups halved grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons crumbled goat cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Cook asparagus in boiling water 2 minutes or until crisp-tender. Drain.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add tomatoes and garlic; cook 5 minutes. Stir in vinegar; cook 3 minutes. Stir in salt. Arrange asparagus on a platter; top with tomato mixture. Sprinkle with cheese and pepper.

Notes: This dish is good both cold and hot. I waited to add the cheese so it wouldn’t melt quite so much.

And for the real reason you’re here: BOOZY CUPCAKES in the form of an Irish Car Bomb. Otherwise known as the “I paid $35 for alcohol to make this” dessert. This recipe, found on Smitten Kitchen, incorporates Guinness in the cake batter, Jameson’s in the ganache filling and Bailey’s in the buttercream frosting. I made these on Thursday because I had an afternoon off from training — I know, a novel concept — and carried a few to Saturday’s race and the remainder to Sunday’s potluck. They’re ahhhhhhmazing.

Whiskey Ganache Filling

Bailey's Frosting

Crack in a Cupcake

Beth also made boozy dessert — Tequila Cake. I don’t think you can go wrong with alcohol plus sugar. What’s your favorite combo?

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Boozy Cupcakes and A Dinner Party

  1. That asparagus dish looks amazing!

    Posted by Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide | May 17, 2011, 7:07 PM
  2. I ate like 1/3 of that asparagus dish. It was amazing.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | May 17, 2011, 7:55 PM
  3. That guac was absolutely genius!! I cannot even describe. Just amazing. The cupcakes and asparagus weren’t too shabby, either 🙂

    Posted by Beth | May 17, 2011, 8:20 PM
  4. The Asparagus with Balsamic-Roasted Tomatoes was so good!

    Posted by Sarah | May 17, 2011, 8:27 PM
  5. Uhm, how does one get invited to said potlucks…because your food looks to die for!:) I am very intrigued by this quac, and am definitely going to have to try it! And the side, because it looks amazing. But maybe not the cupcakes…because they really do look like crack and I think if I made a batch I would be highly likely to eat ALL of them. In one sitting. O.M.G.

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | May 17, 2011, 9:01 PM
  6. I’ve got to try that guac!

    I am a sweet and salty kind of girl. chocolate with salt and caramel with salt are pretty solid combos!

    Posted by 321delish | May 18, 2011, 10:29 AM
  7. Guessss what I made today! This asparagus AND your pear and goat cheese pizza (with my white sauce addition again:). it was awesome and a big crowd pleaser in my house:).

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | May 26, 2011, 10:59 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Running Envy and (Early) WIAW | You Don't Know Until You Tri! - June 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

