//
you're reading...
Gear, Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday: Feel Better Edition

1. I really dislike being sick. It’s screwing with my training plans, possibly keeping me from heading to #fitbloggin this weekend and all around getting in the way of life. I can’t afford to be out for several days after each race — or really at all for the rest of the season — so here’s hoping it’s just what’s going around and the weather rather than a reaction to last weekend’s hard effort.

2. I tested Newtons on Tuesday afternoon. I think I’m gonna go for it. $175 for a pair of neon shoes? Sure, why not?

MileLongLegs.com

3. For the first time ever, I’m having a hard time busting out the credit card and hitting “submit” for a few race registrations. What is wrong with me?!? There are a few century rides I’d like to do, as well as the Jim McDonnell 2-mile swim next weekend and the Rockett’s Landing Oly in July. Oh, and I’m super tempted to do the DC Tri again, as it was my introduction into this crazy sport. I mean, I guess it could be a good thing that I’m thinking twice before typing in my info, but still. Who wants to talk me into/out of all of this?

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: Feel Better Edition

  1. Can I talk you into the DC Tri? This will be my first tri and I would love some company and a friend there

    Posted by sarah | May 19, 2011, 3:19 PM
  2. What size and type for the newtons? I have a pair that I don’t wear.

    Hope you feel better soon!!!

    Posted by Beth | May 19, 2011, 3:27 PM
  3. i am blinded by those shoes.

    Posted by katie | May 19, 2011, 4:01 PM
  4. I have never tried Newtons (except the fig kind) before but the color combo is ridiculously awesome!! That alone makes me want a pair but sadly the men’s colors are not as rockstar.

    Posted by Squirrelhead | May 19, 2011, 4:34 PM
  5. I’ve been wanting to try a pair of newtons but I’ve been deterred by the price. I’ll be interested to hear if you like them!

    Posted by Allison | May 19, 2011, 5:36 PM
  6. Those shoes are…..WOW! How long do a pair of those last? One downside to upping running volume I am finding is that running gets a LOT more expensive when you are burning through shoes in less than 3 months.

    Where in Savannah did you grow up? I lived for two years on 33rd and Bull. I could go for a giant slice of Vinnie Van Go Go’s right now!

    Posted by Jon | May 19, 2011, 11:25 PM
    • LOOOOOOOVE Vinnie’s. I spent several years on Whitemarsh Island but then moved to the Southside/Coffee Bluff area on the Forest River. I would love to live downtown someday!

      Supposedly Newtons last for years. I’m banking on this, especially if I’m paying $175 per pair!

      Posted by Emily | May 20, 2011, 11:06 PM
  7. I’m loving those shoes! I think you should go for it, and press “submit” to register/pay for those races! Goodluck!

    Posted by Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice | May 19, 2011, 11:57 PM
  8. Feel better! It’s the worst being sick when you’d rather be out there training. It happens to me 2-3 times a year. I don’t like it but I’ve found that taking 3-5 days completely off knocks it right out of me and I come back feeling like I haven’t lost a thing.

    Posted by amy | May 20, 2011, 10:18 AM
  9. Ooo, I love those shoes! Very nice!

    Maybe you could pick 1/2-2/3 of the events you mentioned to sign up for? Sometimes it makes me feel better about shelling out the dough if I feel like I’m being more selective and picking the few that I REALLY want to do or have a good reason to do. Or just go for and do all of them!! Haha. I had a very busy spring racing schedule and completely loved it. I really need to plan more stuff for the rest of the year but with my recent foot issues I have no clue:/.

    Good luck and feel better!

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | May 22, 2011, 9:40 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Year That Treated Me Well « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

