//
you're reading...
About Me, Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday: The Grab Bag

I’m tired. It’s hot. I’m ready for the weekend. Again.

1. I really need to get my act together on the whole stretching/PT/core work. I’ve never been much for recovery or anything outside my main workout, and I find it really hard to get motivated to pull out my yoga mat and do crunches and planks after I’ve done my run or ride for the day. Somehow gym access made this slightly less of a tooth-pulling experience, but I don’t have a membership anymore. I know this kind of stuff can have an impact on my performance and my injury status. Help?

2. I’ve been on a little-kid-food kick recently. PB&J and cereal always have been staples of my diet, but I think the rate at which I have consumed the two over the past few weeks borders on absurd. I also had the chance to relive my childhood last weekend when I ate my weight — several times over — in Southern comfort food. Mac&cheese, BBQ, fried green tomatoes, crab cakes — mmmmm. And since I haven’t posted a recipe in awhile — I KNOW — here’s something I invented back in middle school that I’ve brought back as a lunch staple. The Apple-Bagel Sandwich:

Basically, take your favorite bagel, top with thinly sliced apple, your cheese of choice and cinnamon sugar. Toast until the cheese melts and the bagel is to your liking. I used to use Granny Smith apples and American cheese, but this particular one is a Pink Lady with a Mexican blend. Yummmmm.

3. On an only-slightly related note, I’ve had body image issues since forever. This deserves its own post sometime in the near future, but suffice to say I think I’m finally content with both how my body looks and how it performs. I’m in better shape than I ever have been, I feel great and I’m not afraid to walk by the mirror in my underwear. Don’t laugh, you do it too. I have abs, people! It’s hard to notice tiny incremental changes on yourself, but it’s good to hear family and friends who don’t see you on a regular basis say you look healthy and strong. Everyone needs that boost once in awhile.

Happy almost-weekend!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: The Grab Bag

  1. On #3 – yep, I do it too. Looking forward to this post!

    On #2 – I’ve never heard of this nor would I have thought to make it. Sounds delish though and definitely is going into my kid-food repertoire!

    On #1 – ugh, you just have to do it. I’ve started getting in my core work and foam rolling while watching TV. I keep the mat and roller out where I can see them as a reminder.

    Posted by amy | June 9, 2011, 2:45 PM
  2. I’m terrible at the core/stretching stuff too. I will even do what amy does and have the stuff laying out on the floor while I watch tv. Sometimes I even get down on the mat…. and lay there until its time to go to bed. Sorry, that wasn’t helpful.

    Posted by Beth | June 9, 2011, 2:49 PM
  3. Maybe we all need a yoga get together. I’m awful at it – EXCEPT – I finally got a power yoga dvd and it doesn’t bore me like CSPAN (actually CSPAN is more interesting). It seems more athletic. Or, whatever. But all the “spiritual” and “being present” stuff makes my brain explode.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | June 9, 2011, 3:53 PM
  4. If you figure out the secret to actually doing core work, please let me know. I manage to do a few minutes of stretching after most of my runs, but that’s about it. I’m also a huge cereal and PB&J fan (it’s what I have for lunch almost every day) and I will be testing out your apple bagel soon!

    Posted by Allison | June 10, 2011, 7:38 AM
  5. 1. getting injured turned this on for me, bigtime.
    2. that looks delicious
    3. yup! although I still won’t run without a shirt.

    Posted by katie | June 10, 2011, 11:04 AM
  6. 1. I always have trouble making myself focus on these things, but I do think it’s REALLY important that I do.
    2. Wow, that looks awesome. I love little kid food.
    3. I am sad to hear about the body issues (but I know that 99% of women have them), but I am super happy to hear how you’re feeling now! You definitely look incredibly fit to me:)

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | June 12, 2011, 1:54 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: How Running Saved My Life « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - November 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

