//
you're reading...
Just For Fun, Recovery

It’s Recovery Week Wooooooooooooo

This week I finally get a break. I haven’t had a true recovery since I started my IM plan nine weeks ago — and definitely not in the base phase before that — so I’m really excited about this mental and physical respite.

It couldn’t come at a better time.

I raced yesterday (report to come tomorrow) and had a blast, but heading out for a long run AFTER going hard that morning nearly killed me (I’m actually not kidding about this — I had to run/walk my sorry butt home down Conn. Ave). I finally realized how much of a toll this is taking on my mind and body. I struggled with my entire being to get up this morning and swim 3000m — which I only did so I can have the afternoon/evening at home rather than battling the crowds at Wilson. In any case, I need this time to regroup, relax and prep to ramp it right back up next week until taper starts in August.

So, Monday through Friday I’ve got light workouts (Saturday is Total200, which I’m pretending isn’t part of this week) and a total off day on Sunday. Not having to set an alarm, sitting by the pool and maybe having a beer or two? What? Is that a thing people do?

Here’s what I’m planning to do with all this free time I’m not used to having:

1. Cook yummy dinners. I went grocery shopping a few days ago and stocked my fridge with all the right things to make a few real meals with real recipes (I’ve been eating well, just not anything that involves a lot of work) and get back into my Cooking Light challenge.

Um, yes please.

2. Exercise for fun. How can you work out in a recovery week, you ask? Well, one of the things I’m most looking forward to in the off season is inserting some of the variety and fun back into my routine when it comes to staying in shape. I get cranky when I don’t exercise, but sometimes you need a break from the swim/bike/run thing. And for me, taking a cool class at the gym or going to yoga or finding an otherwise new form of activity counts as a mental respite. I just started a two-month pass to Balance Gym (thanks, LivingSocial *and* Groupon!) so I’m going to check out boxing, boot camp and yoga. Maybe some pole dancing too…

Yup. I WILL look like this.

3. Catch up on my DVR. I’ve got a bunch of stuff recorded that I haven’t had time to watch. It’s mostly triathlon and cycling (gotta finish the Tour de Suisse before THE Tour starts next week), but a few movies as well. I just want to sit on my couch with my feet up and zone out into mindlessness.

Pro cycling. Love.

4. Sleep. I’m trying to arrange the workouts I do have this week for the afternoon/evening so I don’t have to get up at 5:30am. Often I prefer to knock it out early so I can go home after work, take a nap, make dinner etc., but I’m going to balance that with a few mornings of sleeping in.

5. Read. Almost all of my reading is triathlon/training-related. Anyone got any suggestions?

What would you do with a rare recovery week?

Discussion

11 thoughts on “It’s Recovery Week Wooooooooooooo

  1. You’ve earned an recovery week! Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the kitchen.

    Posted by Liz | June 20, 2011, 3:54 PM
  2. Mr. 2-hours-straight missed seeing you with the 6 am crowd at Wilson this morning. I could tell because his stroke rate was down in reflection of his sadness.

    Two things to add to this list: Massage (I hope you got one of the like 8 million groupon/living social deals that has been out this year) and baking something with peanut butter and chocolate that the rest of us can envy. Yes.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | June 20, 2011, 4:00 PM
  3. Congrats on getting to your recovery week! You’ve definitely earned it. I’ve had those long runs – not fun. Way to make it home!

    Posted by amy | June 20, 2011, 4:14 PM
  4. If you haven’t read Hunger Games yet, you should get on that this week. Also, I think Katie and I have lounging around in almost-pajamas, snuggling with puppies, and watching ridic amounts of tv down to a science. I recommend doing some of that when you have the time šŸ™‚

    Posted by Beth | June 20, 2011, 4:17 PM
  5. hooray! I am still on my mental break so I just invited myself to come enjoy beer and poolside sunshine with you on Sunday. perhaps brunch, too!

    Posted by Lauren | June 20, 2011, 4:38 PM
  6. Sounds like you deserve this break! The ending to the Tour de Suisse is pretty sick At least it got me all worked up. haha!

    Posted by Jon | June 20, 2011, 4:49 PM
  7. I just read “the help” and it was awesome. i should have lent it to you! maybe i’ll bring it tomorrow (hills?)

    Posted by katie | June 20, 2011, 4:57 PM
  8. Enjoy your recovery week! I also recommend Hunger Games or The Help. Both are well worth your time.

    Posted by Allison | June 20, 2011, 5:26 PM
  9. I’m not sure how you ran after racing on Sunday! But, Horray recovery week is here!!!

    Posted by Sarah | June 21, 2011, 8:40 AM
  10. A much deserved break! Going to read the race report now. I’m excited:).

    Posted by Erin @ untilyoutri | June 22, 2011, 11:00 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

