//
you're reading...
Ironman

Ironman Wisconsin: Almost There

Today was “the day before the day.” Things I’ve accomplished: a short swim in the lake at 7am this morning; a 30-minute shakeout run; wandered around the huge farmers’ market taking place right outside our hotel; packed my transition bags; checked my bike and gear in at Monona Terrace; and mapped out where the parents will be at each stage of the race.

Now I’m laying with my feet up, watching football and electrolyte-loading. All that’s left is pre-race pizza dinner, a chat date with my sisters and last-minute prep to make the morning as smooth as possible. It’s almost here, y’all!

People have been asking me for weeks if I’m ready. Yes, I’m so ready. They’ve asked me if I’m nervous or anxious. No. I’m so excited I’m beaming. I also have this sense of calm about it all. I’ve never done this distance, so it’s not “just another race,” but it’s something I know I can do. I’ve put in the work. I’m ready. There’s nothing more to it than that.

A little peek at how I spent a beautiful Saturday in Madison:

So much cheese.

In just over 24 hours — hopefully — I will be taking a similar picture, this time posing as I cross the finish line. I’m almost there!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Ironman Wisconsin: Almost There

  1. Your bike looks sexy. Have a great race.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | September 10, 2011, 5:31 PM
  2. I love the pics! Eat and sleep lots tonight. We’ll be tracking you from here tomorrow!

    Posted by amy | September 10, 2011, 5:37 PM
  3. You have got this girl! Your blog is so inspiring. It makes me want to to an Ironman!

    Tomorrow is your day. Soak up every minute of it! Go kick that race’s ass!

    Posted by Katie B | September 10, 2011, 7:12 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

