//
you're reading...
Cycling, Races, Three Things Thursday

Three Things Thursday: Offseason’s Coming

1. You guys, I ran a 1:30 half marathon last weekend! Every time I think about this I get excited. Post-IM fitness WHAT UP. On the slight downside, my body is still a little bit mad at me, probably not helped along by my first boot camp class in months. But the off-season goal is to get back in the gym and work on my strength (hello, my arms/shoulders are weak) so I hit my next training cycle ready to roll.

2. I’ve made the executive decision not to run Philly. I think this is smart. That way I can ride my bicycle twice this weekend and twice next weekend, which is what I’d rather do with my free time. On a related note, joining a cycling team was one of the smartest things I’ve done in a very long time. It’s fun, it motivates me to plenty of ass-in-saddle time, there’s a constant stream of rides and we have access to sick discounts. But, most important, it’s made up mainly of guys (lots of them) who collectively own hundreds of bikes. Odds are this will work out in my favor, right? RIGHT?

3. There is a lot of free of food at my new job. I’ve never had to battle this before — ditto access to lots of good lunch spots — so I need to build up a little bit of self-control. Especially as I go into a few months of lighter training. Otherwise it’s gonna get real ugly come February. PUT DOWN THE PUMPKIN CUPCAKE.

Anyone else having a hard time with 5pm darkness?

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: Offseason’s Coming

  1. Thanks for not running Philly. 😦 And I can’t wait to start riding my bicycle again! Weekend rides – WATCH OUT.

    Posted by katie | November 10, 2011, 2:49 PM
  2. Liz has to have a perfected system for how to deal with the free food, right? Isn’t imparting that knowledge on to you a requisite part of being a supervisor?

    Posted by amy | November 10, 2011, 2:54 PM
  3. Yeah, I tried to warn her, but then she was all “I love baked goods!”

    Posted by lizard151 | November 10, 2011, 2:59 PM
  4. Hey – thanks for stopping by my site! And I LOVE your’s as it just happens to be the …um…same design as mine 🙂

    Congrats on your 1/2 mary! Outstanding time!

    And I HATE that it gets dark so dang early. It’s dark when I get up, dark when I come home from work. I need sunshine!

    Posted by Tri Madness | November 10, 2011, 3:50 PM
  5. Winter weight is like resistance training and insulation in one. Have another cupcake!

    Posted by Beth | November 10, 2011, 3:51 PM
  6. 5pm darkness is KILLING ME!!

    Posted by Nikki | November 10, 2011, 4:46 PM
  7. Gonna be the devil here and say that even I am running Philly. Do the half! It will be fun!

    And definately put another cupcake in your mouth dammit! Its the freaking off season! haha

    Awesome that you joined a cycling team. Now you just gotta find yourself a man and use one of his old super bikes and hope to god it fits!

    Posted by Jon | November 10, 2011, 4:55 PM
  8. I totally missed your last race report. 1:30!! Holy smokes! You were flying!

    I love getting out for rides but this early darkness is killing me. Hoping to get out this weekend at least once.

    Posted by Kevin | November 10, 2011, 8:29 PM
  9. Ooo, pumpkin cupcakes!

    Posted by Allison | November 11, 2011, 2:52 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

