//
you're reading...
About Me, Just For Fun

Random Friday Facts

1. I used to be really possessive about where I shopped for my clothes. As in, I told my sisters they weren’t “old enough” to shop at big-girl stores like Limited Too. I know.

2. I really love multipacks of fine-tip Sharpies. Color-coding my life keeps me sane.

3. My favorite breakfast in high school was a bowl of strawberries with vanilla yogurt and homemade granola. My family nicknamed this daily tradition “the strawberry thing.”

4. In fourth grade we had to write our own obituaries (and wills) as part of a reading assignment. I’m pretty sure I believed I was going to die on stage at Carnegie Hall at a very old age while playing my violin.

5. I was in orchestra for, um, six years? Huge nerd right here.

6. In past lives, I’ve also aspired to be a doctor, chef, mystery writer, world traveler (is that a career?), epidemiologist/public health practitioner extraordinaire, nutritionist, running coach…the list goes on. At the moment I’m doing none of these things.

7. The most amazing place I’ve visited is Turkey. Next up on the priority list, SE and/or Central Asia.

8. Previous life goal: learn all the official UN languages. I’ve got three of six, but then I took a semester of Arabic and realized perhaps being a polyglot isn’t my life’s calling.

9. I was the “good girl” in high school. Everyone thought I was too smart to get into trouble. It wasn’t until the middle of college — and certainly since I joined the adult world — that I realized playing it safe makes for a boring existence.

10. I used to bite my nails like crazy, but my grandmothers instilled in me the importance of having beautiful nails (and the wonders of a good manicure).

11. I loved being on camera when I was little. Now I’d really rather not have my picture taken.

12. I’m the oldest of three but usually feel like — and get mistaken for — the youngest.

Happy weekend, everyone! What’s on your agenda? Lots and lots of bicycle riding?

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Random Friday Facts

  1. You were so healthy and wholesome in high school! Actually, it doesn’t seem like much has changed. No wonder you look so youthful at your advanced age 🙂

    Posted by Beth | November 11, 2011, 11:51 AM
  2. Ditto on #2. I can’t live without my sharpies! Clearly the OCD-ness of training for endurance sports spills into all other aspects of our lives. ;^)

    Posted by Emily (@TriRunner302) | November 11, 2011, 12:42 PM
  3. #3 – that’s basically what i eat every day, unless i make a smoothie.

    Posted by katie | November 11, 2011, 1:39 PM
  4. Writing your own will and obit in 4th grade? Seems awfully morbid!

    Posted by Kevin | November 11, 2011, 2:07 PM
  5. I wish I knew more languages. I wanted to take Arabic in grad school but it was completely unrelated to my degree so there was really no point.

    Posted by Allison | November 11, 2011, 2:54 PM
  6. 3 Languages?!?! Which ones? Very cool.

    I can speak 2. English and Gibberish.

    Posted by Jon | November 11, 2011, 3:21 PM
  7. #1 – Limited too was my favorite store for a little too long. I may or may not have been wearing stuff from there though a good chunk of high school…
    #2 – Sharpies have helped me survive grad school
    #3 – still a breakfast staple in my life
    #8 – 3 languages!? thats awesome! I have only taken some Spanish and sadly feel like it is slipping away after not getting to use it much
    #9 – People would describe me the same way…
    #12 – me too. My sister who is a freshman in college often looks older than me.

    Have a great weekend!

    Posted by triathletestrials | November 12, 2011, 5:43 PM
  8. #12…interesting…it’s very rare the oldest/youngest personalities get mixed up. I’m the middle…’nuff said. 😉

    Posted by Heather @ Dietitian on the Run | November 13, 2011, 1:18 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

