//
you're reading...
News, Nutrition, Three Things Thursday, Training

Three Things Thursday: SIGH

1. I never train with music. I used to carry my iPhone when I ran, but then I realized that it’s super sensitive to sweat (I’ve wasted a lot of rice on this thing) and have since gone sans tunes. I’ve been thinking about buying an iPod shuffle for, um, a year now and really need to just suck it up and do it. It’s only $49. That’s nothing in the grand scheme of training tools — or life in general — right?

2. I went out and ran with an awesome new group on Tuesday and I’m pretty excited to join them for my next (first real?) half marathon training cycle this spring.

I’ve been listening to the CAR goings-on for months and sorta kinda considering joining in for a run or two, but my IM training cycle and the fact that practices are in Arlington (blah, VIRGINIA) deterred me. Then this girl convinced me to come out for Tuesday am track, and I decided I’m hooked. It’ll be great to have a running-specific coach (who actually knows what he’s talking about when it comes to periodization and pacing, for example) and a group of fun people to motivate me. And, because I’ve never really finished any sort of (informed) run training cycle, I’m pretty sure this one will bring good results. The morning drive to W&L is just details. I’m going to find the fast, Rock ‘n’ Roll DC here I come!

3. Our elected leaders are idiots. You know that any story that starts with “pizza is a vegetable” is not going to end well. Unfortunately, proposed changes to the national school lunch program were shot down by Congress earlier this week, meaning tomato sauce still counts as a serving of vegetables. Because who needs broccoli and carrots and actual nutritious options? According to the NYT article, new rules for which the Agriculture Department now lacks funding would also have cut the amount of potatoes served, increased the requirement for fruits and vegetables and limited sodium counts. Sigh. This is just another reason why we as a nation are a health disaster. My little bit of public health experience is angry over this.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: SIGH

  1. Do you still live in Logan Circle? I would want to join a running group but a far drive would really make me never go.

    Posted by Liz | November 17, 2011, 12:15 PM
  2. 1. Virginia sucks. Fact.
    2. Just ask for the shuffle for Christmas.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | November 17, 2011, 12:19 PM
  3. 1. $49 is peanuts.
    2. YAY!!! You’ll love CAR!!
    3. Duh to elected leaders being idiots. But I can still count pizza as a vegetable, right?

    Posted by Beth | November 17, 2011, 12:21 PM
  4. I have just started with CAR too and will be training with them for a Spring marathon as well. I look forward to meeting you!

    Posted by Jessica K (@irun26at8) | November 17, 2011, 12:22 PM
  5. A shuffle was one of my better running investments. Just buy one!

    And welcome to CAR! I look forward to seeing you at workouts this spring. 🙂

    Posted by Allison | November 17, 2011, 12:39 PM
  6. 1. I got one for my birthday from the boy’s mom and I LOVE it. Granted, I’ve kind of gone sans-tunes since running with the buddy again, but it’s still nice to have. And holy crap it’s cute.
    2. Running groups are THE BEST. On the other note, I’m anxious to see/watch what “find the fast” means for you…whoa.

    There’s a track group that meets in DC, Tenleytown-style (Wednesday nights), if you need a ‘local’ alternative. 😉
    3. Where do I start….

    Posted by Heather C | November 17, 2011, 1:28 PM
  7. I am so excited that you’re definitely joining us! It’s the best. Seriously.

    As for the shuffle, I don’t train or race a lot with it but I’m always happy to have it when I do. Mine is teeny tiny so it just clips to my shorts and doesn’t get in the way.

    Posted by amy | November 17, 2011, 2:08 PM
  8. BUY IT BUY IT ALREADY.

    And I’m so glad you’re joining us 🙂

    Posted by katie | November 17, 2011, 2:42 PM
  9. 1. I never run with music either. I don’t think you really need it.
    2. I want to join CAR too, but the whole VA thing .. I just can’t. You will have a great training cycle with them though

    Posted by Sarah | November 17, 2011, 3:17 PM
  10. 1. Don’t do it! Stay strong and music free! 🙂 I’ve been tempted to buy one myself, but have been music free for over 2 years now.
    2. I’ve been hearing more and more about people doing this. I can’t stand the track though. I do all of my speed work with my Garmin. Maybe I am missing something
    3. Sigh… Well, at least my Saturday gorging on pizza and beer can now be considered half healthy right?

    Posted by Kevin | November 17, 2011, 8:03 PM
  11. Welcome – it was great to see you there this am!

    Posted by Cris | November 18, 2011, 11:34 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

