//
you're reading...
About Me, Musings

Throwback: Triathlete 4 Life

A peek into my athletic history reveals that I probably was meant to be a triathlete all along.

I took my first steps on my 1st birthday.

I was a natural water rat.

And I loved Big Wheel bike rides.

I got distracted, like every preschool girl, with ballet.

Then I tried T-ball (which later turned into softball).

And I survived a few seasons of soccer somewhere in between.

I was good at approximately NONE of these things. So it was back to swimming.

I was always comfortable in the water. And there was just something about being called up to that block…

And then — THE RUNNING.

A pep talk from Coach carried us to a 3rd place finish at state. I think I was 7th overall that year.

I loved my team (almost) as much as I loved the running itself. Sweaty friends FTW.

Track wasn’t so bad either — I killed my fair share of 1600m and 3200m races over three seasons.

Apparently my coaches never warned me about heel striking. Sigh. I still love them anyway.

Add in a lot of hard work for some kickass cycling skillz, and here I am today:

An Ironman — 24 years in the making.

Meant to be? You decide.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Throwback: Triathlete 4 Life

  1. I went to York Country Day in PA. I didn’t even know there were other country day schools! My journey has been almost identical to yours except I stayed with swimming and started running on my own

    Posted by Shannon @ Mon Amour | November 28, 2011, 9:48 AM
  2. What a cute post. I love all the pictures!

    Posted by sarah | November 28, 2011, 10:06 AM
  3. The soccer pic might be my favorite. Do any little kids have soccer uniforms that fit?

    Posted by amy | November 28, 2011, 10:11 AM
  4. I love this. I think I have a matching ballet pic as a 4 year old. 🙂

    Posted by katie | November 28, 2011, 11:09 AM
  5. Aw, those are some super cute pics. You were absolutely destined to be a triathlete.

    Posted by Beth | November 28, 2011, 1:58 PM
  6. Love all the pictures! It makes me want to dig through all the ones my parents have.

    Posted by Allison | November 28, 2011, 3:21 PM
  7. What an awesome idea for a post!

    We used to compete against Detroit Country Day and they always smoked us. All the Country Day schools must have stellar athletes.

    Posted by Kevin | November 28, 2011, 7:34 PM
  8. That ballet pic might just be the cutest thing EVER. Maybe it wasn’t meant to be, but it’s cute. 😉

    Posted by Heather C | November 29, 2011, 10:32 AM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

