//
you're reading...
Marathon, Races

In The Footsteps Of Legends

There are a few places in the world that could be considered pilgrimage sites for runners.

The track and stadium in Olympia, Greece, site of the ancient Olympics:

The Olympic stadium in Athens, Greece, host of the first modern Games in 1896:

The Boston Marathon finish line, arguably the Mecca of marathoning:

And in April 2012, I’ll be adding this one to my list:

That’s Hayward Field, home of the University of Oregon track team and a few people kinda famous in the running world — Prefontaine, Nike co-founder and Oregon coach Bill Bowerman, marathon star and coach Alberto Salazar, for example.

And I won’t just be visiting Hayward Field to peek in the gate and say hi — I’ll be running the last 150m of my next marathon on the track. Literally, running in the footsteps of legends. Cool, no?

So I swore up and down that I wouldn’t run a marathon this spring because I wanted to ride my bicycle and PR the shit out of my half Ironman and just generally be happy. I didn’t sign up for Boston, and I committed to the National Half in March as a prep race for an early season 70.3. Then I had a pretty decent day in Savannah a few weekends back, and it got me 1) motivated to run again/reminded me why I was a runner in the first place and 2) curious about what I could do if I properly trained for a full 26.2 for the first time in my life. So the idea stuck. And after a lot of research and dithering about courses and timing and travel plans (and some gentle encouragement from this girl and these ladies, who both ran the race last year), I used Black Friday as an excuse to burden my credit card with an entry fee.

Eugene Marathon, on April 29, 2012, I’m coming for you.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “In The Footsteps Of Legends

  1. Yessssss!! Eugene is AMAZING!! I can’t even imagine how fast you will be with proper training and a fantastic race. I’m so excited for you!

    Posted by Beth | November 29, 2011, 12:29 PM
  2. Exciting! Guessing tri season is starting a tad later next season?

    Posted by Jon | November 29, 2011, 12:35 PM
  3. I super duper approve! Hooray!

    Posted by katie | November 29, 2011, 12:51 PM
  4. Very exciting! I can’t wait to see how you do and look forward to seeing you at workouts this spring.

    Posted by Allison | November 29, 2011, 1:01 PM
  5. That will be awesome. Just FYI, my dad went to the University of Oregon at the same time as Prefontaine and is basically obsessed with him. So I will send him a link to your blog and he will stalk your training/racing.

    Because having a 63 year old dude who you’ve never met reading about your running is perfectly normal.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | November 29, 2011, 1:48 PM
  6. You’re totally going to run a 3:00.

    Posted by Jason | November 29, 2011, 2:12 PM
  7. You told me about this yesterday and I’m still SO, SO excited to read it!

    Posted by amy | November 29, 2011, 7:25 PM
  8. Awesome!!! That sounds like an awesome race and venue!

    “curious about what I could do if I properly trained for a full 26.2 for the first time in my life.” <– I'm embarking on a similar journey this winter. I just finished reading Advanced Marathoning and am following the 12-70 plan (12 weeks peaking at 70 miles per week). It is a great read and even as a long time runner, I learned a lot from it.

    Now the real question, which Pre movie is your favorite??

    Sub 3 hours or bust?

    Posted by Kevin | November 29, 2011, 8:49 PM
  9. Awesome! I’m running half!

    Posted by Maddy | November 30, 2011, 1:55 AM
  10. EXCITING! Congrats. Hope this doesn’t mean you’re totally retiring your bike all spring 🙂 And yes, I’m finally official. Will be an Ironman before 30. Even though it will say 30 on my calf on race day 😦 booooo

    Posted by Sarah | November 30, 2011, 11:31 AM
  11. I’ll be there too! I saw the title and just KNEW this was what your post was about. I grew up in Eugene. It truly IS “Track Town, USA”

    Posted by Raina | December 13, 2011, 5:18 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: No, Really, I Will: The Plan For 2012 « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - January 1, 2012

  2. Pingback: Sorry Y’all, BRB « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - February 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

