//
you're reading...
Cycling, Gear

All Of The Sexy

Remember last spring when I was really really excited about the arrival of my super sweet tri bike? When I couldn’t sit still and spent more than a few minutes shrieking and running in circles when I finally was able to see it in real life?

Well, November 29th might give March 24th a run for its money (literally). Because on Tuesday evening, I added the sexiest thing on two wheels to my gear collection:

I am the proud owner of a brand-spanking new road bike, the Specialized Amira SL4 Pro. Please feel free to drool. I do every time I look at it.

You may recall that just a month or so back I was sorta kinda thinking about the idea of replacing my road bike. I felt that, if I was going to be serious about riding and racing with my new team, I would need an upgrade of some sort over the wonderful (but old and heavy) aluminum bike I’ve owned for eight years. My Felt is great but not usable with roadies, with whom I actually prefer to ride. And no matter what, at some point in the near future I’d need to do a major overhaul of my current bike or replace it completely. Without doing any research, I was pretty into the super sleek and super aero Cervelo S2/S5. Then the wonderful guys at Spokes gave me the details on team orders with Specialized and showed me this bike. That was almost the end of it.

Almost. I rode a much less fancy (read: less expensive) Amira, along with a few other bikes at various shops. I hated the S2 I so expected to love. Nothing compared to the Specialized, and I knew that if I liked the more basic model, I’d be absolutely crazy about this one. So I thought about it. And thought some more. And drooled for several weeks over the siiiiiick sleek matte black paint job and Dura-Ace components and crazy light carbon frame and decided I couldn’t live without it. Now is as good a time as any, especially when it comes with a little tiny discount, right? Right.

So after two test rides — and driving one of the Spokes guys crazy with switching my pedals between bikes — I closed my eyes and hit submit on the order. I was told it wasn’t even in stock yet (it’s a 2012 model) and wouldn’t arrive until January, just in time for me to put it away and stare longingly at it for the worst of the winter. I was antsy but mostly OK with it. Then I got a call earlier this week saying that the bike was in and built and ready for me to pick up. SURPRISE!

Like the day I picked up my Felt, I couldn’t sit still. I thought maybe I’d wait until next week when my move is complete to bring it home, but by 5pm I knew I’d go crazy before then. So I made a beeline to Spokes after work, where I more or less did a repeat performance of the dancing around and squealing. I got my Speedplays switched over and jumped on the trainer for a quick fit. It’s pretty amazing how simple a road fit is compared to a tri fit. I’ll ride it for a month or so and make sure it’s all good, but it seems like there are fewer moving parts than with the Felt.

One thing I learned in this process: pay a lot of money for something, and people will pay a lot of attention to you. The guys at Spokes are always great, but there was a lot of extra niceness going on this time around. In all seriousness, I really do appreciate how accommodating and responsive they are in dealing with the needs of hundreds of NCVC riders on top of all their other customers. It was a pleasure working with them — they didn’t lose or sell my bike in the process, so that was a bonus — and I’m very excited to go back over and over to bug them.

So, in summary, I just upped my net worth by a whole lot and made my bicycle collection worth more than, um, everything else I own put together? I have a sweet ride that is light as a feather for climbing and responsive for racing and downright sexy to look at. And, for what it’s worth, it’s the only one of its kind currently floating around the D.C. area. I’ll bask in the excitement of being unique and special for a little while…

And now there’s a serious bike party going on in this girl’s basement:

I count ten wheels and two trainers. This is actually my dream.

Now all I need is that winter cycling jacket I ordered and I’ll be all set!

Discussion

16 thoughts on “All Of The Sexy

  1. Awesome bike! That paint job makes it look like it is designed for stealth ninja missions or something.

    I recognize that bike fit room… is that the same room Katie got fit on her Tri bike? (Oh dear, I have really become a blog stalker if I am correct)

    Posted by Kevin | December 1, 2011, 8:54 AM
  2. I’m drooling all over my computer. LOVE IT!!!! When do we get to trainer party?!?

    Posted by Beth | December 1, 2011, 10:00 AM
  3. Hah I’m glad I actually appreciate how sexy bikes can be (I’ve learned a lot from this boy & his obsessions) – because yes, this is drooool-worthy. One-of-a-kind, too? You better put that bike on lock-down 😉

    Posted by Heather C | December 1, 2011, 10:08 AM
  4. Amazing.

    Posted by amy | December 1, 2011, 10:18 AM
  5. OOHHHH so shiny and exciting!!! and Katie’s basement is becoming a gold mind!!!

    Posted by Sarah | December 1, 2011, 10:24 AM
  6. so sexy. so exciting. katie’s basement looks like the main room of my apartment. our landlord even commented yesterday…”i see you guys are adding to your collection…” HA

    Posted by Sarah | December 1, 2011, 10:25 AM
  7. Mmmmm new bikes. Yummy. Enjoy!

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | December 1, 2011, 10:33 AM
  8. that matte black paint job is sick. as is the current state of katie’s basement. congrats on your new baby 🙂

    Posted by laura | December 1, 2011, 1:16 PM
  9. Together, you and Katie own more bikes than I’ve ever owned in my life. (Of which I had 2: a bike for when I was under the age of 12, and a craptastic heavy-as-fuck 80’s clunker that’s in my basement right now.) You’re going to be crazy fast in any upcoming races, I can sense it!

    Posted by LPT | December 1, 2011, 2:10 PM
  10. Nice! Congratulations on your new ride.

    Posted by Allison | December 1, 2011, 2:38 PM
  11. Chicky chicky bow wow! Its like a room filled with HOTTIES down there! Super slick paintjob. I agree with Kevin. Its got that stealth thing going on.

    Posted by Jon | December 1, 2011, 4:04 PM
  12. Soooo jealous! That bike is sick!!! Hope you get a chance to ride it lots before the snow hits! I definitely want to get out this winter more when the roads are clear. Do you have any winter riding gear to recommend? I definitely need some more layers!

    Posted by triathletestrials | December 1, 2011, 11:05 PM
  13. when you move out, I’m going to have to buy another bike so the QR and my roadie aren’t lonely. poor sad bicis.

    Posted by katie | December 5, 2011, 2:27 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Year That Treated Me Well « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - December 28, 2011

  2. Pingback: A String of [Semi-Related] Thoughts « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - February 2, 2012

  3. Pingback: Yup, Still Fun — 2012 All American Road Race « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - April 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

