//
you're reading...
Adventuring, Just For Fun

Christmas Lights Run

With temps in the mid-50s last night (it’s December, I KNOW), I pretty much had to go for a run. Shorts and a T-shirt, yes please!

There’s almost nothing I love more than running in D.C. at night (maybe rivaled only by running at sunrise). The monuments are lit up and everything is so peaceful — and it reminds me why I truly enjoy living here. And this time of year there is an added bonus: lots and lots of Christmas trees. I set up my 9-mile route to take advantage of as many festive displays as possible.

[Sorry for the poor picture quality. iPhone 3 fail.]

I started out with a 2-ish mile stretch to Union Station via Mass Ave. and then crossed over to the Capitol. Christmas tree #1:

One of my favorite things about running the Mall is the endless view:

And in one run, you can hit most of the key monuments. From the Capitol to the Lincoln:

Up 23rd, through Foggy Bottom and past GWU (I thought there was a tree here, but I couldn’t find it), and over to the White House:

I had to see the display before the whole government shutdown thing (a threat, but since resolved) turned off the lights at the WH Christmas tree village:

I don’t remember the train from last year, but that was a fun addition.

I finished up my holiday run with a trip back down the Mall, up 7th St. through Chinatown, back west to the lights on 16th St. and then home.

D.C., I love you. Don’t ever change.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Christmas Lights Run

  1. I can’t wait to be in DC area to see my parents in just a few days. We always go see the trees and then do dinner at the Willard. nom nom.

    I am running the Reindeer Run tomorrow here in Savannah…. great weather today, high of 78!!

    Posted by VTB | December 16, 2011, 1:16 PM
  2. Aren’t you glad you’re not in SD with their stupid 50º days and christmas trees with no snow? oh, wait.

    Posted by katie | December 16, 2011, 1:21 PM
  3. I ran around the mall in shorts and a t shirt last night too!

    Posted by Liz | December 16, 2011, 1:49 PM
  4. We ran over to check out the trees at lunch today. I love doing that every year and seeing the trains (they have been there for at least the past few years). I don’t live close enough to check everything out at night though. Thanks for sharing the photos!

    Posted by Kandi | December 16, 2011, 2:38 PM
  5. I would absolutely love to live in city that is so beautiful! Lit up Christmas trees are the best to see out while running

    Posted by Shannon @ Mon Amour | December 16, 2011, 3:57 PM
  6. I’m doing my hangover run around the mall New Years day I have decided

    Posted by jon | December 16, 2011, 4:40 PM
  7. Very cool! I’ll eventually do a post like this once we get some snow to stick on the ground. Don’t get me wrong, I’m good with no snow until December 24th. Then snow for 2 days. Then all melt.

    Posted by Kevin | December 16, 2011, 9:26 PM
  8. Running the monuments anytime there are no tourists is amazing. I love the mega Christmas tree run!

    Posted by Beth | December 17, 2011, 8:11 AM
  9. Seriously, that’s my regular run — 2 or 3 times a week, sometimes 4 or 5 times a week, from the SCotUS past the Capitol down the Mall, sometimes doglegging around to the White House, and around all the monuments. I take it for granted all too often.

    Posted by hombrequeso | December 17, 2011, 10:58 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

