//
you're reading...
About Me, Goals, Musings

The Year That Treated Me Well

It’s pretty hard to believe that another year has come and gone.  It seems like the older I get, the faster the days fly by. Even so, I managed to fit a lot into that seemingly short period of time. I didn’t set any specific goals for the year (other than to survive, maybe), but if I had I’d probably be feeling pretty good about my progress. Here’s a look back at some of the things I accomplished in 2011:

I started this little blog.

I met a lot of people who changed my life for the better.

I completed my first Ironman.

I PR’d my half Ironman. And my half marathon. Twice. And my 5K. Also twice.

I ran my first Boston Marathon and PR’d the crap out of the distance after being injured.

I exceeded my race goals over and over and over — and surprised myself with each performance.

I enjoyed the view from the podium. A lot.

I ran at least 850 miles, biked at least 3,550 and swam an undetermined number of meters (probably a lot). I say “at least” because that’s only what my Garmin registered.

I bought two bicycles.

I got over my fear of being clipped in, worked my ass off, and made the bike leg my strongest.

I rode 200+ miles in one day and survived just fine.

I climbed a lot of hills.

I joined a running group that I’m amped to train with.

I finally found my shoes.

I learned that you don’t wear underwear with bike shorts. Or with any workout clothes, really. Now I spend less time wearing underwear and do way fewer loads of laundry.

I discovered the wonders of the ice bath, post-run chocolate milk, and fueling for long training sessions.

I wrote detailed race plans — and actually executed them.

I experimented with a gluten-free diet.

I tried all kinds of new cross-training activities.

I found my mantra.

I finally reached a body shape and size that I’m happy with, and I learned to appreciate how my body performs. Oh, and to love my [substantial] ass for what it is.

I ended a rough relationship, left a job I didn’t love for a new one that I do, and moved into my own studio apartment. I’m a big girl now.

I was happy. Really and truly happy.

I developed into a strong athlete and a more confident person who still has a lot left to achieve — starting right now.

Discussion

17 thoughts on “The Year That Treated Me Well

  1. Such a great year! I’m so happy that I got to meet you, and be part of it. Looking forward to 2012!

    Posted by amy | December 28, 2011, 1:20 PM
  2. I am contemplating the Augusta Half Ironman this September. I am so nervous about the bike portion. And I guess I need to get over wearing underwear in workout clothes…

    Posted by Victoria | December 28, 2011, 1:20 PM
  3. 2011 was a great year for you! I could really use some advice on how you got so strong on the bike though! It is definitely my weakest and don’t even get my started on how terrible I am at climbing hills

    Posted by Shannon @ Mon Amour | December 28, 2011, 2:07 PM
  4. It sounds like an incredible year. Here’s to an even better 2012!

    Posted by Allison | December 28, 2011, 2:26 PM
  5. What a year for you! If you were to take yourself from 12 months ago and put your current self next to the old self, you would be two completely different people. This is a good thing!

    To a good 2012! Cheers!

    Posted by Jon | December 28, 2011, 2:42 PM
  6. A great year for you! Can’t wait to see how you kick ass in 2012!

    Posted by Nikki | December 28, 2011, 2:49 PM
  7. your year was seriously out of control. Just think how much awesome shit you’re going to achieve in 2012 without that pesky Ironman training in the way!

    Posted by emily | December 28, 2011, 3:00 PM
  8. It’s pretty incredible how much you grew over the year. I can’t wait to see how much you accomplish in 2012!

    Posted by Beth | December 28, 2011, 5:05 PM
  9. Love this! Your list of names you’re taking as you kick ass is going to be off the charts by the end of next year! Here’s to an amazing 2012!

    Posted by laura | December 28, 2011, 5:56 PM
  10. You’ve had an amazing year and I know 2012 will be even more amazing!! Looking forward to even more PR’s unfold in front of you! 😉

    Posted by Dash | December 28, 2011, 8:46 PM
  11. Absolutely awesome. All of it. I can’t even begin to imagine what 2012 is going to bring after how awesome 2011 was. Best of luck to you!

    Posted by Kevin | December 29, 2011, 6:53 AM
  12. Wow – that’s a ton of PRs! And I’m so happy you joined us!

    Posted by Cris | December 29, 2011, 1:49 PM
  13. Stellar DNA. Just sayin……

    Actually though, you took it to a whole different level. Way to make the rest of your family look like slugs. Thanks!

    xoxo

    Posted by Jenny | December 29, 2011, 4:51 PM
  14. I love this post! Sounds like you had a great year – can’t wait to follow your training in 2012!

    Posted by Emily (@TriRunner302) | December 29, 2011, 5:05 PM
  15. Awesome, Awesome 2011! Congrats on the many many accomplishments – my favorite part of the whole post is that you are truly happy. Glad you have found a job you love and are loving all that you do. Best of luck in 2012 🙂

    Posted by triathletestrials | December 31, 2011, 1:21 AM
  16. I’m kind of excited to get so many blog hits from creepers who are wondering why you don’t wear underwear.

    Also, your year was kind of fabulous. You might have to retire.

    Posted by katie | January 2, 2012, 3:56 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: One Year Old + A Brownie Experiment « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - January 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

