//
you're reading...
About Me, Recipes

One Year Old + A Brownie Experiment

A year ago today I started this little blog. I came up with the idea about 10 days earlier than that (January 8, 2011 exactly) because I felt like my life had just crumbled around me and maybe if I threw myself totally and completely into preparing for and writing about a big race I’d be able to get back to some level of normal. This worked before. One of the reasons I got into triathlon in the first place was to distract myself from other aspects of life that were making me crazy. Endorphins, or something.

Anyway, I actually didn’t read any triathlon or running blogs at the time, but in those 10 days I came up with a name, made a list of possible topics to cover, wrote and scheduled a few posts, and Speed Laces, Amazing Races was born.

As you’re probably aware, a lot has happened in the last year — in my athletic life, in my personal life, and in my professional life. Things look pretty different now than they did 365 days ago, and in the best way possible. I credit this blog with gifting me a lot of great relationships, with rebuilding shattered confidence, with keeping me focused on what is truly important to me. It’s been a success.

So — Happy Birthday, blog! In honor of the occasion — and because I felt like baking last night — we have my first attempt at Pumpkin Black Bean Brownies. Surprisingly, they are DELICIOUS (and gluten free and low calorie and low fat and not bad for you).

  • 1 can rinsed and drained black beans
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 T canned pumpkin
  • 4 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ¾ cup sugar

Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender. Stir in 1 cup chocolate chips or nuts, if desired. Pour into a greased 8×8 or 7×11 baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. Cool, cut and eat!

Discussion

16 thoughts on “One Year Old + A Brownie Experiment

  1. Sounds good

    cheers

    Posted by bearrunner | January 18, 2012, 7:14 AM
  2. Pumpkin + Black Bean?? What?! These are being tested in our kitchen, asap.

    Happy Blog birthday! One of the best things about a blog is the ability to look back and see how far you’ve come. Cheers to the next 365 🙂

    Posted by Heather C | January 18, 2012, 8:40 AM
  3. What? these sound so strange. testing ASAP

    Posted by Katie | January 18, 2012, 10:36 AM
  4. ooh, I am so making those tonight. In honor of your blogiversary, of course.

    Posted by Beth | January 18, 2012, 10:37 AM
  5. Oh my god! I can actually eat these! If I can bake without burning the house down.

    Posted by Cris | January 18, 2012, 10:49 AM
  6. Happy blog-aversary!

    Posted by Jon | January 18, 2012, 10:50 AM
  7. haha…and not bad for you. I love it.

    Happy blogiversary!

    Posted by amy | January 18, 2012, 11:37 AM
  8. Happy Blog-iversary! I’m looking forward to another year of awesome posts 🙂

    That recipe looks totally crazy. I’m going to have to try it out just to see if it actually tastes good!

    Posted by Brigid @ Live Breathe Huzzah | January 18, 2012, 12:48 PM
  9. Happy Blog Birthday!

    Posted by rundash | January 18, 2012, 1:29 PM
  10. Those brownies sound great! I think I am going to have to give them a try 🙂 Happy One Year!!!

    Posted by Running For Today | January 18, 2012, 3:34 PM
  11. i am confused by these brownies- but i shall try them!

    happy blogiversary!

    Posted by Lauren | January 18, 2012, 3:45 PM
  12. Happy blogiversary! Definitely going to have to test out that recipe.

    Posted by Allison | January 18, 2012, 3:58 PM
  13. I think I met you via your blog and that is good. Or maybe because you sat outside my house with a box of donuts and binoculars. could be either.

    Posted by katie | January 18, 2012, 3:59 PM
  14. Happy Blogoversary! Like you, I had no idea the benefits (namely the friendship) I would make because of blogging. One of the best decisions I ever made.

    Black beans is the one food that I know is good for me but I can’t manage to choke them down. No idea why. Maybe if they are “hidden” in brownies??

    Posted by Kevin | January 18, 2012, 8:15 PM
  15. Happy blog birthday! I’m glad you started blogging too, you definitely inspire me to push harder.

    Posted by Liz | January 18, 2012, 11:56 PM
  16. Happy Blog-iversary! When I started blogging last March, I had never been a blog reader either. It has completely opened the door to whole new community of people and support. I have totally fallen in love with blogging almost as much as triathlon and running! Looking forward to keeping up with your blog this year!

    Posted by Emily (@TriRunner302) | January 19, 2012, 7:56 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

