//
you're reading...
Just For Fun, Recipes

Because It’s Friday…

I’m too lazy to write a long and rambling training update that you probably don’t care about anyway, so instead you get Random (Somewhat Embarrassing) Friday Facts and a delicious homemade pizza dinner. Enjoy!

1. I’ve had a huge crush on Zach Braff since forever. Like, HUGE.

2. On a related note, I’m working my way through every season of Scrubs.

3. I missed my senior prom to present epidemiology research I conducted to a panel in D.C. Nerd alert.

4. I’m deathly afraid of needles. I passed out when I got my ears pierced, and I’ve never been able to get through a blood donation.

5. For the first two weeks of college, I lived in a forced double — bunk beds! — with a roommate who played World of Warcraft anytime she wasn’t in class. Yup.

6. My first drink ever was a peppermint patty shot. Ooof.

7. I’m going to see Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney in concert together in August. Yes, it’s 8 months away, and yes, I’m so unbelievably excited about it.

8. I think cardiology is fascinating. When I was little, my dad would take me to work with him and use a model heart to explain conditions he was treating.

9. I fell down the stairs as an toddler. Guess the clumsiness isn’t anything new?

10. I run into people I know everywhere. At the top of the random list: in a hotel lobby in Barcelona and on a street corner in Paris.

11. I went to a Journey concert in high school. It was awesome.

So I never argue with pizza, especially pizza made completely from scratch. I have a great recipe for whole wheat dough, but I wanted to try a GF version. So I attempted this millet-buckwheat crust from Edible Perspective, along with a homemade tomato sauce. Both were so easy to make and are way more delicious than the processed store-bought versions. I roasted eggplant slices, sauteed bell peppers and red onion, and topped the whole thing with feta cheese and fresh basil.

It also makes delicious leftovers. Have a great weekend!

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Because It’s Friday…

  1. “a roommate who played World of Warcraft” – do you think this person knows, when they are “THAT roommate”? I mean, whoa.

    My first drink was Smirnoff Ice(s), ha. It was quite tasty.

    The pizza crust looks good! Giving that one a try to switch things up next week. 🙂

    Posted by Heather C | January 27, 2012, 8:33 AM
  2. My college room mate had a giant poster of Bob Marley and was high most of the time. The rest of my dorm hall spent their time either hungover or playing Dungeons and Dragons. So, needless to say, I spent very little time actually at my dorm.

    My first drink was Jungle Juice. That did not end well. The first beer I had was Guinness – still my favorite.

    Posted by Kevin | January 27, 2012, 9:08 AM
  3. Captain Morgan here. Boy have I come a long way! Of course, you have seen me when I have had, like, I think? 8 drinks? Oops!

    Piiiizzzzzaaaaaa. YUM!

    Posted by Jon | January 27, 2012, 9:57 AM
  4. #10 I ran into Jason’s old roomate on the streets of Copenhagen last summer. It was so weird.

    Posted by Sarah | January 27, 2012, 10:35 AM
  5. My first drink was vodka, but the first time I got sick was rumplemintz. Gross.

    Posted by Beth | January 27, 2012, 11:07 AM
  6. my first drink was mad dog 20/20! very classy, i know 🙂

    mmmm pizza

    Posted by Lauren | January 27, 2012, 1:38 PM
  7. I’m glad that forced double was only around for 2 weeks. That would have made for a LONG year.

    Posted by Allison | January 27, 2012, 2:41 PM
  8. I have never watched scrubs. I know.

    Posted by katie | January 27, 2012, 2:49 PM
  9. oh, and I spent my entire freshman year in the upper bunk bed. yup.

    Posted by katie | January 27, 2012, 3:22 PM
  10. My freshman roommate had organic chemistry posters on the wall. And tried to make rules about when we were allowed to have visitors in the room… Good times in Aycock 🙂

    Posted by Rachel | January 27, 2012, 4:07 PM
  11. I run into people I know all the time too. Lauren gets so mad because she went to school with like 30,000 people and I went to school with 1600. Still, I see people all the time with stickers, sweatshirts, etc. and she doesn’t.

    Posted by amy | January 27, 2012, 5:08 PM
  12. Glad you’re liking Edible Perspective!!

    Posted by Failed Muffins | January 27, 2012, 6:13 PM
  13. I am SO afraid of needles. My hands and feet sweat like crazy when I have to get blood drawn. haha

    Posted by Katie | January 29, 2012, 11:26 PM
  14. Yummm, I love that crust + sauce!! Glad you enjoyed it as well. Your toppings look awesome! The first ever drink I had was peppermint schnapps…yak!

    Posted by Ashley | January 30, 2012, 5:19 PM

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

