//
you're reading...
Injury, Musings

When It Rains, It Pours

1. Shit never ends. My knees are in solid shape, but my left peroneal tendons are acting up (cue pre-Boston injury) and I’m having some pain in my right foot that is horribly similar to what plantar fasciitis is supposed to feel like. I’m nipping this in the bud quickly though — the pain started on Tuesday, I went to PT a few hours later, and I’ve added more balancing/strengthening/stretching/icing to my daily routine. I discovered that I underpronate ever so slightly with my right foot, evidenced by the wear on my shoe, and now I’m hyperaware of my foot strike. I’m also the girl who walks to work in her running shoes and spends a good portion of the day rolling bare feet over a frozen water bottle. Sadly, I think my orange Newtons are being rotated into retirement as a result of all this. Good thing the 2012 model is an even better shade of awesome!

I can run through the tendonitis in my knees and calves, no problem. It’s annoying but not game-ending. I cannot run through plantar fascia issues. It’s too effing painful and can only get better with rest. So all I can do is take it one day at a time — and keep on keeping on.

2. I very much appreciate having free access to an awesome pool (well, not totally free, my ridiculously high taxes fund the place), but geez do I dislike the people who work there. The city government, and therefore Wilson, is understaffed, I get it. But is it impossible to find employees who are polite or competent or — gasp — both? Even setting aside the lane line disaster and the fact that the lifeguards never police the unsupervised children playing in the aqua jog lane, no one there has a clue, and they aren’t willing to be flexible or help you out.

Take yesterday morning, for example. The pool was set up for 25 yards — which is why I swim M/W mornings — but whoever does the lane changes sucks at tightening the lines. Inevitably, they snake all over the pool so you run into them in the middle of a set if someone in the next lane is super splashy. This in itself isn’t a problem, they’re easy to tighten. So before I jump in, I make sure to do just that. But when I went to do so, the lifeguard came rushing over and was like “I GOT IT.” So I was about to get going and let him take care of it but then noticed that he was loosening it. I said as much, and he snapped back at me not to tell him how to do his job. So we went back and forth a few about how it was unnecessary for him to raise his voice and for me to question his skills, which basically ended in a four letter word and me jumping in the water with a huge splash. File this under: unless you have had your coffee and I’ve at least started my workout, we probably shouldn’t be speaking.

Anyway, I’ll give the guy credit for coming back over during a break in my sets and apologizing for yelling at me. What I didn’t realize was that he was loosening the lane line to move it over to a different hook, therefore actually widening my lane. If he’d said as much, that would have been the end of it, especially because it wasn’t (entirely) my intention to accuse him of not being able to do his job. The upside? Now Larry the Lifeguard and I are besties.

3. In better news: GO TO HELL CAROLINA GO TO HELL.

BOOM. Victory never tasted so sweet.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “When It Rains, It Pours

  1. Hah….probably shouldn’t let you in on this, BUT…D is a Carolina fan 🙂 And his mom is a HUGE Duke fan. Very entertaining…

    On another note, besties with a lifeguard is always a good thing! Life-savers shouldn’t be enemies.

    Posted by Heather C | February 9, 2012, 8:42 AM
  2. So sorry to hear about the injuries. I’m hoping for quick healing for you!!!

    Posted by Katie | February 9, 2012, 9:13 AM
  3. The lifeguards/staff at Wilson are actually a million times better than the ones in Arlington. Cynthia at the front desk has to be one of the sweetest people that I run into most days. The staff in Arlington are just nasty to our swimmers when they are early (because they have to…change before practice? amazing). And one of the lifeguards/managers likes to stalk our coaching staff. Not OK.

    Also, being besties with a lifeguard isn’t as great as you think. Because most people are nasty to them, or just ignore them, if you are pleasant they will think you have the hots for them. Regardless of their/your gender. Just trust me.

    Posted by Victoria (District Chocoholic) | February 9, 2012, 9:31 AM
  4. Ohhhhhhhhh, you KNOW I get the injury stuff. Now only if we lived closer so we could drown our sorrows in wine. Dammit. And wicked funny – one of my friends was just telling me this morning about a bitchy lifeguard. Granted, it was in Massachusetts, but still. Bizarre.

    Feel free to email me to vent/bitch/whatever about injury stuff. God knows I completely understand. (hugs)

    Posted by Meaghan | February 9, 2012, 10:58 AM
  5. So sorry about the foot issues. BTW, looks like I have a free 5 day pass to my gym, so you’ve welcome to it if you need another place to cross train.

    So, do you actually choose to swim at WIlson when it’s 25 yards, instead of 50m? I was trying to figure out who actually preferred the 25 yards, and I guess now I know….

    Posted by Cris | February 9, 2012, 11:42 AM
  6. That whole lifeguard thing sounds like something I would do. I’m worked up just thinking about it!

    I’m sorry about the stupid injuries though. Maybe amputation?

    Posted by amy | February 9, 2012, 11:45 AM
  7. I’d like to take the opportunity of your blog post to let you know that I know everything and you suck at everything.

    Posted by katie | February 9, 2012, 1:09 PM
  8. 1. If it wasn’t for people like you PTs (including Laura) would be out of work so they thank you for job security. REALLY sucks on your end…….I’m sowwy!!!!!!!
    2. Unpleasant lifeguards and pool managers must be born that way. We know a few others don’t we? Bulldogs and Diet Coke by the liter……
    3. DITTO! Stunned silent Tarheels are the best kind.

    Posted by Jenny | February 9, 2012, 2:11 PM
  9. Dagger to the heart. And I know that makes you even happier.

    Posted by Allison | February 9, 2012, 3:01 PM
  10. I can’t complain too much about our life guards. They really don’t do much and we are lucky if they just manage to stay awake.

    Go Duke! We just got back from visiting one of my good friends whose wife just finished up her master’s at Duke so we heard all about the anticipation for this game.

    Posted by Kevin | February 9, 2012, 8:55 PM
  11. Blech, plantar fasciitis, blech. Hopes for speedy healing to you!

    Posted by kimra | February 10, 2012, 12:52 AM
  12. Sorry to hear about your PF, but I’m so glad your knee is doing better!
    Glad to see the Newtons aren’t really retiring, just getting a color upgrade!

    Posted by rundash | February 10, 2012, 3:01 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Sorry Y’all, BRB « Speed Laces, Amazing Races - February 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

Recent Tweets

Enter your email address to get regular updates from Speed Laces, Amazing Races.

Join 40 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

